Hunter Atherton will compete with the Big Ten volleyball foreign tour team in Europe in June.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Atherton Named to B1G Volleyball Foreign Tour Team

By NU Athletic Communications

Nebraska volleyball redshirt freshman setter Hunter Atherton has been chosen to represent the Huskers on the Big Ten Volleyball Foreign Tour Team that will compete in Europe this June, the Big Ten announced on Wednesday.

For the second time in the past three years, Big Ten volleyball students from all 14 institutions will travel overseas to compete in a foreign tour. In addition to competition on the court, the tour will feature community service initiatives and the opportunity to experience new cultures. The Big Ten Volleyball Foreign Tour Team will travel to the Czech Republic, Slovenia, Italy and Austria from June 17-28, 2017. Justine Wong-Orantes represented Nebraska on the first-ever trip in 2015.

Atherton, a 5-11 native of Prospect, Ohio, redshirted in her first year at Nebraska in 2016. At Dublin Coffman High School in Ohio, Atherton was the Ohio Gatorade Player of the Year and an Under Armour First-Team All-American. 

Maryland's Steve Aird will serve as the head coach of the Big Ten Volleyball Foreign Tour Team. Minnesota's Alexandra Dunphy will serve as the Director of Operations, Iowa's Cari Gold will be the communications director and Scott Campbell of Penn State will serve as the athletic trainer. Jessica Palermo, Assistant Commissioner of the Big Ten Conference, will also travel with the party.

In addition to competition on the court, the 14 students in attendance will have the opportunity to participate in community service initiatives, study foreign languages with local students and visit some of Europe's most historic cities, including Vienna, Austria, Maribor, Slovenia, and Venice and Milan in Italy.

The complete Big Ten Foreign Tour Team roster can be found below and the final schedule will be announced at a later date.

2017 Big Ten Volleyball Foreign Tour Team
Indiana - Kendall Beerman
Maryland - Samantha Drechsel
Michigan State - Autumn Bailey
Northwestern - Allie Lindroth
Penn State - Victoria Gorrell
Michigan - Claire Kieffer-Wright
Iowa - Annika Olsen
Illinois - Jordyn Poulter
Ohio State - Audra Appold
Nebraska - Hunter Atherton
Wisconsin - Tionna Williams
Minnesota - Dalianliz Rosado
Purdue - Danielle Cuttino
Rutgers - Jasmine Stackhouse


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub