11 Huskers Named to Berringer Team

By NU Athletic Communications
The members of the 2008 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team were honored on the field at the Huskers' soldout Spring Game.
The members of the 2008 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team were honored on the field at the Huskers' soldout Spring Game.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Lincoln - Eleven members of the 2007 football team comprise the 11th annual Brook Berringer Citizenship Team as announced by the Nebraska Athletic Department. The student-athletes will be recognized on the field before kickoff of Saturday’s Red-White Spring Game at Memorial Stadium.

The Brook Berringer Citizenship Team was established by the Husker football program in honor of former Nebraska quarterback Brook Berringer, who died in a plane crash in April of 1996. Berringer was a member of NU’s back-to-back national championship teams in 1994 and 1995. He was also one of the most dedicated Husker volunteers in the community with youth, both in Nebraska and in his hometown of Goodland, Kan. The team honors players who display a similar love and dedication for volunteering in the community.

This year’s Berringer Citizenship Team is headlined by five repeat honorees, including a four-time honoree and a pair of three-year recipients. Place-kicker Jake Wesch is a member of the team for the fourth consecutive year, while punter Dan Titchener and 2007 senior fullback Matt Senske were both named to the Berringer team a third straight time. Senior receiver Todd Peterson and 2007 senior lineman Victory Haines are the two-time honorees on this year’s team.

Six players have been named to the team for the first time in their careers. Those honorees include senior quarterback Joe Ganz, sophomore fullback Aaron Gillaspie, senior linebacker Cody Glenn, sophomore linebacker Blake Lawrence, senior long snapper T.J. O’Leary and senior linebacker Tyler Wortman.

The football team has been among the most active teams in the local community, ranking among the finalists for the Life Skills Team Award each of the past three seasons. A large group of student-athletes and coaches, including football team members are scheduled to visit a local Lincoln hospital and retirement center on Thursday, April 24.

Athletic Director Tom Osborne and Associate Athletic Director for Life Skills Keith Zimmer will make the presentation to the Berringer team recipients.

In addition to the Berringer Team, senior defensive end Zach Potter will be honored on Saturday as the recipient of the second annual Cletus Fischer Endowed Scholarship. The scholarship is presented annually to a Nebraska football player who has demonstrated a high level of athletic and academic achievement and intends to pursue a career as a high school or college coach.

2008 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team (years on team)
* Joe Ganz, QB, Palos Heights, Ill., 2008
* Aaron Gillaspie, FB, Littleton, Colo. 2008
* Cody Glenn, LB, Rusk, Texas, 2008
* Victory Haines, OL, Logan, Utah, 2007, 2008
* Blake Lawrence, LB, Shawnee Mission, Kan., 2008
* T.J. O’Leary, LS, Omaha, Neb., 2008
* Todd Peterson, WR, Grand Island, Neb., 2007, 2008
* Matt Senske, FB, Bellevue, Neb., 2006, 2007, 2008
* Dan Titchener, P, Cheyenne, Wyo., 2006, 2007, 2008
* Jake Wesch, PK/H, North Bend, Neb., 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
* Tyler Wortman, LB, Grand Island, Neb., 2008


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub