Tolly Thompson and Jason Kelber will be inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame on April 8.
Photo by None

Thompson, Kelber to Join Iowa Hall of Fame

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln, Neb. – Former Husker wrestlers Tolly Thompson and Jason Kelber will be among four Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame inductees at the 44th Annual Awards Banquet on April 8.

Thompson, who wrestled for Nebraska from 1993-97, holds the school record for career wins with 157. He earned All-America honors three times, which included the heavyweight national title in 1995. Thompson also claimed the conference title on three occasions during his Husker career.

Kelber wrestled for the Huskers from 1987-91, winning 123 matches during his career. Kelber captured All-America accolades on three occasions, including a national title at 126 pounds in 1991. He finished in the top-three at the conference championships three times, winning the title in 1991. Following his wrestling career, Kelber served as an assistant coach for Nebraska under Tim Neumann for three seasons from 1997-2000.

Thompson wrestled at Janesville High School before joining the Huskers, compiling a 118-16 mark and placing second at the Iowa state meet twice. After college, he finished third at the 2005 World Championships at 120 kg.

Kelber wrestled at West Marshall High School, where he won the state title in each of his last three seasons. He finished his high school career with a 123-3 record.

For more information on the banquet, call the Cresco Chamber of Commerce (563-547-3434) or CIA Insurance in Cresco (563-547-2382). The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame website is


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub