Tommie Frazier will be honored at halftime of Saturday's game with UCLA.
Photo by Kelly Mosier

Frazier Set for NFF Hall of Fame Salute

By NU Athletic Communications

IRVING, Texas – The University of Nebraska and The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced that they will jointly honor Tommie Frazier with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments®, on Sept. 14 in Lincoln during the game between Nebraska and UCLA. Coverage of the game will start at 11 a.m. CT on ABC.

“This is quite an honor,” said Frazier when it was announced in May that he would be inducted. “You never play the game and think you are going to be in the Hall of Fame one day. You just go out and try to be the best you can be and whatever happens, happens. I was fortunate that good things happened, but it certainly was not me alone. I had great teammates and coaches that played a big part in this honor.”

The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute program is a hallowed tradition that began with the inaugural class in 1951, and to this day the salutes remain the first of numerous activities in each inductee’s Hall of Fame experience. During the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, each inductee returns to his alma mater to accept a Hall of Fame plaque that will remain on permanent display at the institution. The events take place on the field during a home game, and many inductees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them one more chance to take the field and hear the crowd roar their name.

Frazier starred with the Cornhuskers from 1992-95, leading College Football Hall of Fame coach Tom Osborne and Nebraska to back-to-back perfect national championship seasons in 1994 and 1995.

“Tommie is a legend among legends in a long line of celebrated Big Eight quarterbacks,” said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. “He dominated the college football landscape in the 90s, going undefeated in his final two seasons and winning two national titles. It will be a thrill to honor him in front of the Nebraska faithful at Memorial Stadium.”

The 1995 consensus First-Team All-American and Johnny Unitas Award winner was runner-up for the 1995 Heisman Trophy and a finalist for the Walter Camp and Maxwell awards. Frazier led Nebraska to four consecutive bowl appearances, claiming MVP honors in the 1995 Orange and 1996 Fiesta bowls en route to the national title. Frazier missed seven games during the 1994 season due to blood clots, but the junior was able to return and direct Nebraska’s come-from-behind win over Miami in the national title game. The 1995 Big Eight Player of the Year set a conference record with a 33-3 overall career mark as a starter. Frazier won the Big Eight title in all four of his seasons, posting three straight years of undefeated league play.

Frazier played for the Montreal Alouettes of the Canadian Football League in 1996 before trying his hand at the coaching profession. He coached at Baylor and Nebraska before being named the 32nd head coach at Doane College (Neb.), spending two seasons at the school.

Frazier was named to Sports Illustrated’s All-Century Team, and his No. 15 jersey has been retired by Nebraska. Following his football days, the Bradenton, Fla., native settled in Omaha, Neb., where he works for a healthcare foundation.

Frazier becomes the 16th Nebraska player to be inducted, joining Forrest Behm (1938-40), Bob “The Boomer” Brown (1961-1963), Guy “The Champ” Chamberlin (1914-15), Sam Francis (1934-36), Rich Glover (1970-72), Wayne Meylan (1965-67), Bobby Reynolds (1950-52), Dave Rimington (1979-82), Johnny Rodgers (1970-72), Mike Rozier (1981-83), George Sauer (1931-33), Will Shields (1989-92), Clarence “Swanny” Swanson (1918-1921), Ed Weir (1923-25) and Grant Wistrom (1994-97). Six coaches with stops in Lincoln are in the hall: Dana Bible (1929-36), Bob Devaney (1962-72), Lawrence “Biff” Jones (1937-41), Osborne (1973-97), Eddie “Robbie” Robinson (1896-97) and Fielding Yost (1898).

Including the 2013 FBS class, only 934 players and 205 coaches have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame from the 4.99 million people who have played or coached the game over the past 145 years. In other words, only two ten-thousandths of one percent (.0002) of those who have set foot on the gridiron have earned the distinction. For a complete list of players and coaches in the hall, please visit

The 2013 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted at the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, held at New York City’s historic Waldorf-Astoria Hotel on Tuesday, Dec. 10. This year’s College Football Hall of Fame FBS Class includes: Ted Brown (North Carolina State), Teddy Bruschi (Arizona), Ron Dayne (Wisconsin), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska), Jerry Gray (Texas), Steve Meilinger (Kentucky), Orlando Pace (Ohio State), the late Rod Shoate (Oklahoma), Percy Snow (Michigan State), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, Fla.), Don Trull (Baylor), Danny Wuerffel (Florida), and coaches Wayne Hardin (Navy, Temple) and Bill McCartney (Colorado).


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub