Corey Cooper and Randy Gregory were named to the Lott IMPACT Watch List.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Cooper, Gregory Named to Lott IMPACT Watch List

By NU Athletic Communications

Husker Blackshirts Corey Cooper and Randy Gregory were among 42 players named to the 2014 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List when the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation announced its nominees on Wednesday.

Cooper, a senior safety from Maywood, Ill., started all 13 games last season and led Nebraska with 91 tackles. He earned 52 solo stops and five tackles for loss in addition to one interception as a junior in 2013. Cooper was named an honorable mention All-Big Ten pick by conference coaches.

Cooper will once again be a leader in the secondary for Nebraska’s defense after appearing in 38 games over his first three seasons. He has 117 career tackles, 68 of which are solo stops in his time with the Huskers.

Gregory, a junior defensive end, earned unanimous first-team All-Big Ten honors after his first season at Nebraska in 2013. The Fishers, Ind., native led the Big Ten in sacks with 10.5, and made 66 total tackles as a sophomore. His 10.5 sacks also set a school record for most by a first-year defender.

Gregory started 10 games and appeared in all 13, while registering 19 tackles for loss. He will anchor Nebraska’s defensive line in his second year with the program.

Now in its 11th year, the Lott IMPACT Trophy goes to the college football defensive player who has the biggest IMPACT on his team both on and off the field. IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The winner will be announced at the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Banquet Dec. 14 at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach. 

2014 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List
Geoffrey Bacon, DB, Army

Vic Beasley, DE, Clemson
Michael Bennett, DT, Ohio State
Kelby Brown, LB, Duke
Shilique Calhoun, DE, Michigan State
Sam Carter, S, TCU
Henry Coley, LB, Virginia
Landon Collins, S, Alabama
Corey Cooper, S, Nebraska
Ronald Darby, CB, Florida State
Michael Doctor, LB, Oregon State
Alvin “Bud” Dupree, DE, Kentucky
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, CB, Oregon
Collin Ellis, LB, Northwestern
Cole Farrand, LB, Maryland
Randy Gregory, DE, Nebraska
Bryce Hager, LB, Baylor
Vernon Hargreaves, DB, Florida
David Helton, LB, Duke
Myles Jack, LB, UCLA
A.J. Johnson, LB, Tennessee
Karl Joseph, S, West Virginia
Eric Kendricks, LB, UCLA
Hau’oli Kikaha, DE, Washington
Ben Kline, LB, Penn State
Cameron Lynch, LB, Syracuse
Wayne Lyons, CB, Stanford
Jaylen Milles, CB, LSU
Jonathon Mincy, CB, Auburn
Ryan Mueller, DE, Kansas State
Cory Morrissey, DE, Iowa State
Hayes Pullard, LB, USC
Cedric Reed, DE, Texas
Jordan Richards, S, Stanford
Deterrian Shackleford, LB, Ole Miss
Danny Shelton, DT, Washington
Derron Smith, S, Fresno State
Haylon Smith, LB, Notre Dame
Eric Striker, LB, Oklahoma
Jared Tevis, S, Arizona
Leonard Williams, DT, USC
Ramik Wilson, LB, Georgia


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub