Head Coach Gary Pepin was named the Big Ten Indoor Women's Coach of the Year on Tuesday.
Photo by BreAnna Haessler/NU Media Relations

Pepin Honored as Women’s Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year

By NU Athletic Communications
Lincoln- On Tuesday afternoon the Big Ten Conference announced its 2012 indoor track and field All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners. Nebraska Head Coach Gary Pepin was the named the Women's Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year as voted on by his peers.

Pepin was honored after leading his women's team to their first Big Ten team title at last weekend's 2012 Big Ten Indoor Championships at the Devaney Center where Nebraska beat Ohio State 114.50-106. Along with winning their 24th indoor conference title, the Husker women won three individual titles in the pole vault, triple jump and 3,000 meters. Pepin has now been named a conference coach of the year 23 times, and it marks the seventh time he has been selected for the women's indoor award. As the men's and women's coach, Pepin has guided the Huskers to 68 conference titles, including 44 Big Eight championships, 23 Big 12 team titles and their first Big Ten title in 2012.

Additionally, the Huskers saw three female student-athletes earn All-Big Ten first-team nods as Breanna Bussel, Mara Griva and Ashley Miller received accolades. On the men's side, Chris Phipps and Luke Pinkelman notched All-Big Ten first-team honors, while Bjorn Barrefors, Tommy Brinn, Ricco Hall and Patrick Raedler were named All-Big Ten second-team award winners.

The Big Ten Conference also recognized Phipps and Miller as Nebraska's Sportsmanship Award recipients. The student-athletes chosen for the award are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior.

Men's Awards

Track Athlete of the Year
Harun Abda, Minnesota

Field Athlete of the Year
Japheth Cato, Wisconsin

Freshman of the Year
Robby Creese, Penn State

Co-Track Athlete of the Championships
Andrew Bayer, Indiana
Harun Abda, Minnesota

Field Athlete of the Championships
Japheth Cato, Wisconsin

Coach of the Year
Ron Helmer, Indiana

First Team
Andrew Riley, Illinois
Andrew Bayer, Indiana
Kind Butler, Indiana
Darius King, Indiana
Troy Davis, Iowa
Erik Sowinski, Iowa
Harun Abda, Minnesota
Micah Hegerle, Minnesota
Hassan Mead, Minnesota
Chris Phipps, Nebraska
Luke Pinkelman, Nebraska
Antonio Blanks, Ohio State
Marvel Brooks, Ohio State
Thomas Murdaugh, Ohio State
Heath Nickles, Ohio State
Korbin Smith, Ohio State
Robby Creese, Penn State
Wade Endress, Penn State
Casimir Loxsom, Penn State
Aaron Nadolsky, Penn State
Japheth Cato, Wisconsin

Second Team
Brandon Stryganek, Illinois
Cody Wisslead, Illinois
Olumide Olamigoke, Indiana
Craig Forys, Michigan
David Puchuta, Minnesota
Jack Szmanda, Minnesota
Bjorn Barrefors, Nebraska
Tommy Brinn, Nebraska
Ricco Hall, Nebraska
Patrick Raedler, Nebraska
Cory Leslie, Ohio State
Max Mays, Ohio State
Brady Gehret, Penn State
Brandon Bennett-Green, Penn State
Geoff Davis, Purdue
Danny Block, Wisconsin
Alexander Hatz, Wisconsin
Tim Hucke, Wisconsin
Zach Mellon, Wisconsin
Aaron Thompson, Wisconsin

Women's Awards

Track Athlete of the Year
Christina Manning, Ohio State

Field Athlete of the Year
Leah Eber, Purdue

Freshman of the Year
Ashley Spencer, Illinois

Track Athlete of the Championships
Christina Manning, Ohio State

Field Athletes of the Championships
Dani Bunch, Purdue

Coach of the Year

Gary Pepin, Nebraska

First Team
Latoya Griffith, Illinois
Ashley Kelly, Illinois
Ashley Spencer, Illinois
Asia Thomas, Illinois
Monique Riddick, Indiana
Rebecca Addison, Michigan
Shannon Osika, Michigan
Jillian Smith, Michigan
Brittani Williams, Michigan
Rebecca Buchholtz, Michigan State
Breanna Bussel, Nebraska
Mara Griva, Nebraska
Ashley Miller, Nebraska
Christina Manning, Ohio State
Shaniqua McGinnis, Ohio State
Caitlin Lane, Penn State
Kara Millhouse, Penn State
Dani Bunch, Purdue
Leah Eber, Purdue
Dorcas Akinniyi, Wisconsin

Second Team
Breeana Coleman, Illinois
Stephanie Richartz, Illinois
Kelsie Ahbe, Indiana
Ruth Christopher, Indiana
Kelsey Duerksen, Indiana
Breanne Ehrman, Indiana
Antonia Franklin, Indiana
Emma Kimoto, Indiana
Tori Franklin, Michigan State
Brittany Lewis, Michigan State
Chesna Sykes, Ohio State
Ijeoma Iheoma, Penn State
Mahagony Jones, Penn State
Dynasty McGee, Penn State
Kirsten Nieuwendam, Penn State
Jessica Flax, Wisconsin


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub