The Huskers brought home three B1G honors as announced on Tuesday
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Garner Three B1G Postseason Awards

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln - The Nebraska soccer team earned three Big Ten Conference postseason accolades announced by the league offices on Tuesday. Senior Jordan Jackson was selected B1G Midfielder of the Year, while fellow senior Ari Romero was recognized as B1G Defender of the Year. Meanwhile, NU Head Coach John Walker was unanimously named B1G Coach of the Year as the Huskers claimed their first Big Ten Championship and first regular-season title since 2000.

Jackson guided the Huskers with eight goals and eight assists for a team-high 24 points, while also putting up a team-best 35 shots on target during the regular season. Jackson has earned a point in 12 of her last 16 matches and is third in conference matches with 17 points. Jordan’s 34 career tallies are eighth best among all-time Husker goal scorers, while her 27 assists are tied for seventh best in program history. The Overland Park, Kan. native also received First-Team All-Big 12 honors back in 2010.

Romero has been a workhorse on the back line of an NU defense that helped pitch six shutouts this season with four clean sheets in Big Ten play. In 2013, Romero has been part of a shutdown back line for the Huskers that allowed just 10 goals during conference play. Romero, who missed just one match this season to play for the Mexican National Team, is averaging more than 90 minutes per game. The Surprise, Ariz. native was a Second-Team All-Big Ten selection last season.

Senior goalkeeper Emma Stevens and freshman forward Jaycie Johnson were selected to the Second Team All-Big Ten, in their respective positions. Stevens is having a career year with a 1.04 goal-against average making 73 stops, as she became the all-time leader in saves at Nebraska. Johnson showed no nerves in making the transition to the collegiate level after she became the first NU freshman to score a pair of goals in her Scarlet and Cream debut and leads the team with 10 goals.

A pair of Huskers brought home All-Freshman Big Ten designations as Johnson and Sydney Miramontez were voted on the list. Johnson was a unanimous selection at the forward position, while midfielder Miramontez earned the honor after posting three scores and two assists up to this point in 2013.

Junior Hannah Dittmar was also acknowledged as a recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award as she posted a goal and two assists for NU. Dittmar distinguished herself through sportsmanship and ethical behavior this season and throughout her career.



Coach of the Year: JOHN WALKER, Nebraska

Forward of the Year: Jannelle Flaws, Illinois

Midfielder of the Year: Jordan Jackson, Nebraska
Defender of the Year: Ari Romero, Nebraska
Goalkeeper of the Year: Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota

Freshman of the Year: Rose Lavelle, Wisconsin

All-Big Ten Teams

Position                               First Team                                                           Second Team

Forward                               JANNELLE FLAWS, Illinois                              Cloe Lacasse, Iowa

                                                Nkem Ezurike, Michigan                               Jaycie Johnson, Nebraska

                                                Maya Hayes, Penn State                               Nichelle Prince, Ohio State

Midfield                              Meghan Toohey, Michigan                          Lisa Nouanesengsy, Indiana

                                                Jordan Jackson, Nebraska                            Taylor Schram, Penn State

                                                Mallory Weber, Penn State                         Kinley McNicoll, Wisconsin

                                                Rose Lavelle, Wisconsin                               

Defense                               Holly Hein, Michigan                                       Melanie Pickert, Iowa

                                                Shelina Zadorsky, Michigan                         Mary Kathryn Fiebernitz, Michigan State              

                                                ARI ROMERO, Nebraska                                Megan Fuller, Ohio State

                                                                                                                                Whitney Church, Penn State

Goalkeeper                        Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota                              Emma Stevens, Nebraska

All-Freshman Team*


Forward                               MADISSON LEWIS, Michigan

                                                JAYCIE JOHNSON, Nebraska

                                                Nichelle Prince, Ohio State

Midfield                              Veronica Ellis, Indiana

                                                Josee Stiever, Minnesota

                                                Sydney Miramontez, Nebraska

                                                Alexis Degler, Ohio State

                                                ROSE LAVELLE, Wisconsin


Defense                               Amanda Lulek, Iowa

                                                Brittany Basinger, Penn State

                                                Kylie Schwarz, Wisconsin

Goalkeeper                        Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota

* Additional honoree due to tie.

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees:

Kristen Gierman, Sr., Illinois

Rebecca Dreher, Jr., Indiana

Alex Melin, Sr., Iowa

Chloe Sosenko, Jr., Michigan

Kelsey Mullen, Sr., Michigan State

Steph Brandt, Sr., Minnesota

Hannah Dittmar, Jr., Nebraska

Kate Allen, Sr., Northwestern

Ellyn Gruber, Jr., Ohio State

Tani Costa, Sr., Penn State

Hadley Stuart, Sr., Purdue

Marisa Kresge, So., Wisconsin


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub