Larry Jacobson (75) was Nebraska's first-ever Outland Trophy winner.
Photo by None

Jacobson Wins Nagurski Legends Award

By NU Athletic Communications
The Charlotte Touchdown Club, in conjunction with the Football Writers Association of America, announced Wednesday that Larry Jacobson will receive the 2012 Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, which recognizes outstanding defensive football players from the past 40 years. The award will be presented formally during the annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Banquet on Monday, Dec.  3.

During Nebraska's 1970 and 1971 national championship seasons, Jacobson averaged almost 20 solo tackles per season and won numerous, honors including All American and the Outland Trophy as the nation's top interior lineman in 1971. The University of Nebraska bestowed its ultimate honor on Jacobson with the retirement of his No. 75 jersey in 1994.

"I was deeply honored to learn I had been chosen to receive the 2012 Bronko Nagurski Legends Award," Jacobson said. "Bronko Nagurski is one of football's true legends, and I assume I was selected to receive this honor because I won the Outland Trophy during my senior year as part of the Nebraska 1971 team, which was recently named as the best college football team of all time. I am especially thrilled to receive an award based on my accomplishments before the NFL, because I consider college football the greatest game in the world. When I go to Charlotte to accept this honor, it will be on behalf of all of my 1971 teammates and the way we played the game more than 40 years ago."

Jacobson joins a rapidly expanding list of elite Bronko Legends Award winners including Bubba Smith and Alan Page in 2007, Ted Hendricks in 2008, Roger Wehrli in 2009, Mike McCoy in 2010 and Jack Youngblood last year.

Steve Richardson, executive director for The Football Writers Association of America, said: "Larry Jacobson is an Outland Winner from 1971, symbolic of the best interior lineman in college football. And, if we had had the Nagurski Award back then, he might have won that as well. Nebraska's 1971 football team was part of an iconic era for that school when the Cornhuskers won back-to-back national championships. The 1971 team was one of the greatest teams in college football history that played in one of the greatest games in college football history against Oklahoma, a 35-31 Nebraska win in Norman. He was a stellar defensive tackle."

The Bronko Nagurski Legends Award was initially presented in 2007 to players from the 1966 season, the first season the FWAA All-American Teams were separated into defense and offense. "Larry Jacobson is the latest in a growing list of Bronko Nagurski Legends Award recipients who have demonstrated excellence both during their playing careers and beyond," said James R. Hertwig, CEO of Florida East Coast Railway. "Florida East Coast Railway takes great pride in our support of the Charlotte Touchdown Club and its mission to promote Citizenship, Scholarship, Sportsmanship and Leadership."


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub