Katie White won the women's 3,000 meters on Friday night.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Open 2013 Season with Eight Event Titles

By NU Athletic Communications
Lincoln, Neb. - The Nebraska track and field team kicked off the 2013 season on Friday with the Holiday Inn Invitational in front of 1,506 fans at the Devaney Center Indoor Track. The Huskers recorded eight event titles on the evening.

Freshman Kari Heck produced a fantastic start to her Husker career, winning the women's long jump with a mark of 18-8 ½ (5.70). She lead a contingent of Huskers who followed close behind with Anna Weigandt (18-1), Anne Martin (18-0 ¼) and Kara Mostoller (17-9 ¾).

Another newcomer produced a strong showing for NU as Janis Leitis won the men's long jump with a leap of 24-11 3/4 (7.61). Following him was Patrick Raedler in second with a leap of 24-10 (7.57).

In the women's weight throw, Tristen Sharp posted a fourth-place finish behind a personal-best throw of 53-1 1/2 (16.19). Jacob Griess finished with a personal-best throw of 54-11 ½ (16.75) in the men's weight throw.

All-Big Ten performer Tommy Brinn took the men's 800 meter title with a time of 1:52.67. London Hawk finished second, posting a time of 1:55.53, missing his personal-best mark of 1:55.40. Jelena Andjelkovic took home the women's 1,000 meter title with a time of 3:06.16, while Sidney Madlock won the men's 1,000 meters with a personal-best time of 2:31.40.

Sarah Plambeck captured her first title of the season as she won the women's mile with a time of 5:12.31. Freshman Jacob Olson finished second in the men's mile, recording a time of 4:22.49, and Alney Tobias came in third with a time of 4:24.44. Katie White kicked off her senior season with a winning-time of 10:11.97 in the women's 3,000 meters, as Trevor Vidlak took the men's 3,000 title with a personal-best time of 8:22.05 and Connor Gibson finished third with a time of 8:27.78.

Advancing to tomorrow's finals in the women's 60 meter hurdles are Jordan Stiens, Mila Andric, Jourdan Doffeny, Martin and Paula Andrie, while on the men's side Miles Ukaoma and Teran Walford advance.

In women's 60 meters Breunna McCarty, Heck, Mara Griva, Ellie Ewere, Kara Mostoller and Weigandt will move on to the finals tomorrow as Tim Thompson led the way in the men's 60 meters, followed by Dexter McKenzie, Nikita Pankins, John Welk, Teddy Lampkin and Zach Birkel, who all advanced to tomorrow's finals.

The second day of action will start at noon tomorrow with the men's pole vault, men's triple jump, women's shot put and women's 60 -meter hurdles final. The last running even of the day, the men's 4x400 meter relay, is slated for 3:55 p.m.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub