Christian Sanderfer won the men's pole vault on Saturday.
Photo by Nate Olsen/Nebraska Communications

Husker Men Highlight Second Day at Husker Invite

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln, Neb. – The 39th running of the Frank Sevigne Husker Invite came to a close on Saturday with six event wins from the Nebraska track and field team. The Huskers saw strong performances from the men’s squad on the second day of competition in front of 2,365 fans at the Devaney Center Indoor Track.

Christian Sanderfer produced a solid showing in the men’s pole vault, winning the event with a personal-best vault of 17-3 ¾ (5.28). His vault puts him at ninth all-time at NU and catapults him into the top-25 nationally and second in the Big Ten. Freshman Steven Cahoy finished fifth with a vault of 16-8 (5.08).

The Huskers took the men’s mile title with a stellar performance from Connor Gibson. He recorded a personal-best time of 4:04.05 to take the event and move to eighth all-time at Nebraska and fifth in the conference.  Jacob Olson finished third with a time of 4:07.84 and Trevor Vidlak was fourth with a time of 4:08.11.  

London Hawk was the top collegiate finisher in the men’s 800 meters as he recorded a personal-best time of 1:51.37. Jacob Holtmeier was third with a time of 1:51.61. Ellen Dougherty finished with a personal-best time of 2:09.12 for the women. With that time she ranks fourth in the Big Ten.

The men’s 4x400-meter relay team of Jake Bender, Drew Wiseman, Levi Gipson and Cody Rush claimed top honors with a time of 3:09.80. The women’s 4x400-meter relay team Chantal Duncan, Ellie Grooters, Shawnice Williams and Mara Weekes came in second with a season-best time of 3:37.10. That time puts the team at second in the Big Ten Conference.

Ellie Ewere was the top collegiate finisher in the women’s triple jump. She posted a mark of 42-2 ¼ (12.86), earning a new personal best. That mark cements her spot at second in the conference. Devandrew Johnson came in fourth in the men’s triple jump as he recorded a leap of 49-5 ½ (15.07). Corey Winston was eighth with a leap of 47-4 ¼ (14.43).

In the women’s 600 meters special, Shawnice Williams tallied the victory with a personal-best time of 1:29.15, cementing her spot at No. 3 all-time at Nebraska and second in the Big Ten. Ellie Grooters came in second with a personal-best time of 1:29.85, which puts her at third in the Big Ten. Cody Rush finished second on the men’s side with a time of 1:18.40, tying for second in the conference, while Levi Gipson tallied a time of 1:20.44.

In the women’s high jump, Marusa Cernjul posted a second-place finish with a mark of 5-7 (1.70). Jillanna Scanlan was fifth with a leap of 5-5 (1.65). Travis Englund finished third in the men’s high jump as he posted a mark of 6-10 ¾ (2.10).

In the men’s shot put, Will Lohman tallied a third-place finish with a throw of 59-9 ¾ (18.23). Chad Wright followed his lead with a fourth-place finish on a throw of 59-3 ½ (18.07). Annie Jackson came in third for the women as she notched a personal-best throw of 54-3 ¾ (16.55). That throw moves her to third in the Big Ten.

Closing two days of heptathlon competition, Guy Fenske finished seventh overall with a personal-best 4,841 total points. He started his day by posting a time of 9.45 in the 60-meter hurdles, before notching a vault of 12-9 ½ (3.90) in the pole vault competition. He then closed two days of competition with a time of 2:42.21 in the 1,000 meters.

Sam Shaw finished ninth in the heptathlon with 4,505 points. He started his day with a personal-best time of 8.93 in the 60-meter hurdles, followed by a vault of 11-1 ¾ (3.40) in the pole vault. Shaw closed the day with a time of 3:09.65 in the 1,000 meters.

Mara Weekes finished seventh in the women’s 200 meters as she recorded a season-best time of 24.10, which moves her to eighth in the conference. Ricco Hall finished ninth on the men’s side with a time of 21.30, while Dexter McKenzie was 10th with a time of 21.34.

Oladapo Akinmoladun produced a second-place showing in the men’s 60-meter hurdles as he finished with a time of 7.73. Tibor Koroknai was sixth with a time of 8.07.

The most valuable performer on the women's side went to Southern California’s Jessica Davis, while Texas-Arlington’s Clayton Vaughn was honored as the men's most valuable performer.

The Huskers hit the road next weekend as they will travel to the Iowa State Classic in Ames, Iowa, and the Tyson Invitational in Fayetteville, Ark.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub