Shawn Nagel is among the Huskers competing in the Wrestle-Offs on Friday.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Set for Wrestle-Offs on Friday

By NU Athletic Communications

Match Day: Nebraska Coaches Clinic/Wrestle-Offs
Date: Friday, Nov. 8
Time: 6 p.m. CT
Location: Devaney Center (Lincoln, Neb.)

Lincoln, Neb. – The Nebraska wrestling team will hold its annual Wrestle-Offs in conjunction with the Fall Coaches Clinic on Friday night at the Bob Devaney Sports Center. The Wrestle-Offs start at 6 p.m. CT.

The event is free admission and will assist the Husker coaching staff in determining NU’s starting lineup for the 2013-14 season. Twitter updates will be provided throughout the event and can be found by following @HuskerWrestling.

The Huskers return to the Devaney Center on Sunday, Nov. 17, for their season-opening dual against Northwestern at 1 p.m. The matchup is the first of six home duals at the newly renovated venue this season.

The Huskers will also compete at the Stanford Duals, Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational, Reno Tournament of Champions and Big Ten Championships, leading up to the NCAA Championships in Oklahoma City, Okla., March 20-22.

Nebraska Wrestle-Offs Matchups
Mat 1
1. (125): Tim Lambert vs. Shawn Nagel

2. (157): Ian Ousley vs. John Svoboda
3. (149): Jake Sueflohn vs. Luis DeAnda
4. (165): Micah Barnes vs. Brandon Wilbourn                                    
5. (197): Caleb Kolb vs. Spencer Johnson       
6. (157): John Svoboda vs. Alex Metzler
7. (HWT): Collin Jensen vs. Nyle Bartling                                                       
8. (141): Anthony Abidin vs. Winner of Joseph/T. Galloway
9. (149): Jake Sueflohn vs. Destin McCauley                                            
10. (184): Aaron Studebaker vs. TJ Dudley                                                
11. (157): Ian Ousley vs. Alex Metzler 

Mat 2
1. (133): Colton McCrystal vs. Ben Morgan

2. (141): Adam Joseph vs. Tyrell Galloway
3. (149): Destin McCauley vs. Gage Anderson
4. (184): Aaron Studebaker vs. TJ Dudley
5. (174): Robert Kokesh vs. McCoy Newberg
6. (133): Colton McCrystal vs. Eric Montoya
7. (125): Tim Lambert vs. Shawn Nagel
8. (149): Luis DeAnda vs. Gage Anderson
9. (165): Micah Barnes vs. Brandon Wilbourn
10. (197): Caleb Kolb vs. Spencer Johnson
11. (133): Eric Montoya vs. Ben Morgan

Burroughs Headlines Coaches Clinic
Olympic Gold Medalist and World champion Jordan Burroughs headlines the 2013 Nebraska Wrestling Fall Coaches Clinic on Friday at the Devaney Center.

Coaches who attend will get an NSAA Wrestling Rules Clinic, technique sessions, a gift, as well as breakfast, lunch and dinner. The event starts with registration and breakfast at 9:15 a.m. in the north concourse of the Devaney Center.

Burroughs, a former Husker and two-time national champion, will present a session on wrestling technique in the afternoon, followed by a Q&A session.

In addition, Volunteer Assistant Matt Meuleners and two-time All-American Jason Chamberlain will present a wrestling technique session and Ron Higdon of the Nebraska High School Athletic Association is scheduled to present a wrestling rules clinic.

Last Time Out: Three Huskers Win at Daktronics Open
Robert Kokesh (174), James Green (157) and Collin Jensen (HWT) each captured titles at the Warren Williamson/Daktronics Open to begin the season on Sunday, Nov. 3, in Brookings, S.D.

Kokesh tore through the bracket at 174 pounds with two pins, one technical fall and two major decisions. The Wagner, S.D., native opened with a fall in 6:04 over Augustana College’s Drake Fanslau and added a pin in 2:06 in the semifinals against Michael Joseph of Minnesota. Kokesh completed his tournament run with a 13-3 major decision over Missouri’s Mike England in the finals.

Green took home the title at 157 pounds with a victory in the finals over Kyle Bradley of Missouri. Green added a pin, major decision and technical fall leading into the final match. His fall occurred in 1:49 in the quarterfinals against Northern Illinois’ Andrew Morse.

Jensen captured the heavyweight crown in South Dakota by winning four matches after a first-round bye. Jensen pinned his first opponent in 2:46 before a major decision in the quarterfinals. He won back-to-back decisions to cap his championship run, including a 7-3 victory over Devon Mellon of Missouri in the finals.

Tim Lambert (125), Anthony Abidin (141) and Jake Sueflohn (149) each made appearances in the finals but fell by decision to finish second. Lambert finished the day with four wins, including two by technical fall. Abidin achieved a pin in 1:08 and a technical fall as part of his four victories in the tournament. Sueflohn won five matches, earning two pins and two major decisions in the process.

Ben Morgan (133), TJ Dudley (184) and Spencer Johnson (197) each finished third in their respective weight classes. Dudley defeated fellow Husker Aaron Studebaker, 9-4, in the third-place match at 184 pounds.

Additional Husker placers include Brandon Wilbourn (fourth at 165), McCoy Newberg (fourth at 174), Shawn Nagel (fifth at 125) and Nyle Bartling (seventh at heavyweight).


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub