Katie Kraeutner led NU with a perfect 4.0 GPA in the classroom
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Soccer Achieves 14 Academic All-Big Ten

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln - The Nebraska soccer team placed 14 student-athletes on the 2013 Fall Academic All-Big Ten list announced on Wednesday by the conference office.  Overall, a total of 58 Nebraska student-athletes were recognized, including 30 football players, 14 women's soccer student-athletes, nine members of the Huskers' cross country teams and five volleyball players.

Sophomore Katie Kraeutner set the mark for the Huskers in the classroom as the Canadian midfielder achieved a perfect 4.0 grade-point average. Kraeutner was one of 20 student-athletes in the Big Ten to maintain umblemished success.

During its three years as members of the Big Ten Conference, the soccer program has produced 36 academic All-Big Ten honorees. Success in the classroom has always been a part of the soccer program, as the team produced 119 Academic All-Big 12 honors while members of the Big 12 Conference from 1996-2010. 

Nebraska Soccer Fall 2013 Academic All-Big Ten
Samantha Areman - Jr. - Marketing
Stacy Bartels - Sr. - Elementary Education
Jourden Casey - Jr. - Advertising and Public Relations
Mayme Conroy - Jr. - Child, Youth and Family Studies
Hannah Dittmar - Sr. - Nutrition, Exercise and Health Science
Alyssa Flannery - So. - Child, Youth and Family Studies
Caroline Flynn - So. - Communication Studies
Karlee Gansebom - So. - Pre‐ Nursing
Kylie Greischar - Sr. - Communication Studies
Maritza Hayes - Sr. - Psychology/Advertising and Public Relations
Jordan Jackson - Sr. - Nutrition, Exercise and Health Science
Katie Kraeutner - So. - Nutrition, Exercise and Health Science
Jaylyn Odermann - So. - Undeclared
Emma Stevens - Gr. - Political Science

The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the winter and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program. 


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub