Sophomore Liz Kuhlkin led the way for the Huskers, winning the individual competition
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Sweep Field at UCM Invitational

By NU Athletic Communications

The Nebraska bowling team won its third tournament of the 2012-13 season Sunday, as the Huskers went 12-0 in competition at the Central Missouri Women’s Collegiate Invitational held in North Kansas City, Mo.

The Huskers used a strong team effort in beating Arkansas State 4-0 today to take the tournament title. Head Coach Bill Straub was extremely impressed with the teams overall consistency not only today, but throughout the entire weekend.

“I am extremely impressed with how the team performed this weekend,” Straub said, “We had two members make the all-tournament team and four in the top 13. It was just a whole lot of consistency.”

Sophomore Liz Kuhlkin added to her already impressive 2012-13 campaign by winning the individual tournament title. Kuhlkin averaged a staggering 238 average throughout the weekend.

“Liz’s performance throughout the year has been the most pleasant thing to watch this year.” Straub said, “She thrives under pressure, she does her best when it comes down to the wire. Liz has been tremendous.”

Also making the all-tournament team was senior Kristi Mickelson. Mickelson recorded an average of 218, placing her fourth overall in the individual standings. Mickelson bowled a high score of 267.

Other individual performances to note were Sophomores Elise Bolton and Andrea Ruiz. Bolton posted a 208.8 average placing her eighth overall in individual standings while Ruiz averaged 202.6 throughout the weekend, placing her 13th

The Huskers started off Sunday’s competition beating No. 4 Vanderbilt 4-2 and then went on to the tournament championship against No. 3 Arkansas State. NU swept the Red Wolves 4-0 (202-195, 265-245, 223-216, 206-204) taking the tournament title.

Nebraska will travel to the Music City Classic March 15-17 in Nashville, Tenn. The tournament will be hosted by Vanderbilt, and will feature a talented field of 28 teams, including 18 of the top 20 squads in the nation.




More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub