Ari Romero has been allocated to Seattle Reign FC for the 2014 NWSL season.
Photo by Nate Olsen/Nebraska Communications

Romero Allocated to Seattle Reign

By NU Athletic Communications

Chicago - The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced the allocation of Nebraska soccer All-American Ari Romero to the Seattle Reign FC for the 2014 NWSL season. A total of 50 allocated National Team players will be participating in the upcoming season with 26 Americans, 16 Canadians and eight Mexicans.

Former NU soccer student-athletes Karina LeBlanc and Selenia Iacchelli were also allocated to the Portland Thorns FC and the Western New York Flash, respectively.

In 2013, Romero became the 12th Husker All-American and claimed Nebraska's 18th NSCAA All-America award in school history after her senior season where NU collected a pair of Big Ten titles and earned a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament.

From Jan. 3-6, the NWSL will have a league-wide “trade period” during which all NWSL teams may make trades throughout the four days. However, teams will not be allowed to waive players currently on their roster until after the NWSL Expansion Draft.

The Surprise, Ariz. native became a stalwart at center back for the Huskers throughout her career and flourished in her final season with the Scarlet and Cream. The NSCAA All-Region First Team honoree and Big Ten Defender of the Year displayed a tireless work ethic as she worked every second of the final 15 matches on her way to averaging more than 91 minutes per match in 2013.

U.S. Soccer is subsidizing the salaries of 26 players, while the Canadian Soccer Association and the Federation of Mexican Football will do the same for 16 and eight players, respectively.

Following are the club-by-club allocations:

Boston Breakers

Meghan Klingenberg (USA)*
Kristie Mewis (USA)
Heather O'Reilly (USA)
Chelsea Stewart (CAN)*
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)
Dinora Garza (MEX)

Chicago Red Stars

Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Christen Press (USA)*
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Erin McLeod (CAN)
Rachel Quon (CAN)*

Houston Dash

Whitney Engen (USA)*
Melissa Tancredi (CAN)*
Teresa Noyola (MEX)

FC Kansas City

Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Lauren Holiday (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)
Cecilia Santiago (MEX)

Portland Thorns FC

Rachel Buehler (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Jackie Acevedo (MEX)*

Seattle Reign FC

Stephanie Cox (USA)*
Sydney Leroux (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)
Carmelina Moscato (CAN)
Arianna Romero (MEX)*

Sky Blue FC

Jill Loyden (USA)
Kelley O'Hara (USA)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Jonelle Filigno (CAN)*
Sophie Schmidt (CAN)
Monica Ocampo (MEX)

Washington Spirit

Yael Averbuch (USA)*
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Robyn Gayle (CAN)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Renae Cuellar (MEX)

Western New York Flash

Carli Lloyd (USA)
Abby Wambach (USA)
Selenia Iacchelli (CAN)*
Veronica Perez (MEX)

* = New Allocated Player


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub