Huskers Finish with 19 Event Titles at Pre-Drake Meet
Landon Nelson won the men's javelin on Wednesday with a personal best throw.
Photo Courtesy Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications
Courtesy: NU Athletic Communications
Send Mail Print RSS

Lincoln, Neb. – The Nebraska track and field team hosted the Pre-Drake Meet on Wednesday at Ed Weir Stadium. The Huskers used the meet as a tune-up before heading to the Drake Relays this weekend and came away with 19 event wins on the day.

Teddy Lampkin tallied a first-place finish in the men’s long jump, recording a season-best leap of 24-2 ¼ (7.37). Travis Englund was second with a leap of 23-2 ½ (7.07) and Justin English was third with a mark of 22-3 (6.78). Jourdan Doffeny finished first in the women’s long jump, recording a leap of 17-11 ¾ (5.48).

Tess Merrill tallied a first-place finish in the women’s pole vault, notching a mark of 11-11 ¾ (3.65). Paula Andrie finished second with a vault of 11-11 ¾ (3.65). Craig Driver notched the event win for the men, posting a vault of 16-0 ¾ (4.90). Christian Sanderfer was second with a vault of 15-7 (4.75). Beau Simmons tallied a third-place finish with a mark of 15-1 (4.60).

Englund also finished first in the men’s high jump, posting a personal-best mark of 6-10 ¼ (2.09) which ranks 10th in the Big Ten. Marusa Cernjul tallied another win in the women’s high jump, finishing with a leap of 5-6 (1.68). Katie Smith was second and Jillanna Scanlan was third, both posting jumps of 5-6 (1.68).

Jake Griess notched a first-place finish in the men’s hammer throw, tallying a mark of 172-00 (52.42). Mary Morales finished second in the women’s hammer throw as she recorded a personal-best toss of 174-2 (53.10).

Landon Nelson came in first in the men’s javelin as he notched a personal-best throw of 184-11 (56.37). That throw moves him up to 16th in the conference. Sam Shaw finished second with a throw of 168-11 (51.49). Maggie Malone also finished first in the javelin for the women as she posted a throw of 144-3 (43.96). Mara Griva was third with a throw of 123-8 (37.69).

Ellie Ewere won the women’s triple jump with a leap of 39-1 (11.91), as Kara Mostoller posted a leap of 35-9 ½ (10.91). Englund was the top collegiate finisher in the men’s triple jump as he posted a leap of 46-4 (14.12). Rashad Moxey was third with a jump of 43-1 (13.13).

Zach Birkel finished first in the men’s 100 meters with a time of 10.91, while Jordan Munar was second with a time of 10.98. Breunna McCarty won the women’s 100 meters with a time of 12.21.

Lexie Oak posted a win in the women’s 200 meters as she recorded a personal-best time of 24.96. Munar finished second in the men’s 200 meters with a season-best time of 22.21, while Birkel was third with a time of 22.23.

Morgan Woitzel posted a first-place finish in the women’s 800 meters, finishing with a time of 2:17.66. Anna Minnick came in second with a time of 2:20.43, while Sarah Plambeck won the women’s 1,500 meters with a time of 4:54.48.

In the men’s 110-meter hurdles, Sean Pille finished first with a personal-best time of 14.30. Greta Kerekes notched a time of 14.29 in the 100-meter hurdles for first, while Doffeny was second with a time of 14.37.

Mark Hilderbrand won the men’s 400-meter hurdles with a time of 53.80. On the women’s side, Ellie Grooters came in first with a time of 1:04.07.

The majority of the team will compete at the Drake Relays this weekend, while the Husker throwers will compete at the Triton Invitational.

Holiday Inn 2015
JV Team 300x250
Uploaded Ad
NCAA Volleyball Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad