Morgan Broekhuis (left) earned Academic All-Big Ten honors on Wednesday.
Photo by None

Broekhuis, Thramer Earn Academic All-Big Ten Honors

By NU Athletic Communications
A total of 89 Nebraska student-athletes were recognized Wednesday as Academic All-Big Ten recipients. The list of honored Nebraska student-athletes includes 36 track and field athletes, 15 baseball players, seven softball players and men’s golfers, six women’s tennis players, five women’s golfers, four bowlers, four rifle athletes, three men’s tennis players and two sand volleyball players.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Nebraska senior sand volleyball players Morgan Broekhuis and Hayley Thramer were honored with the accolades. Broekhuis and Thramer are both three-time Academic All-Big Ten honorees.

The conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award in July. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Beach Volleyball Mar. 23
Beach Volleyball Mar. 21
Beach Volleyball Mar. 19
Beach Volleyball Mar. 7


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub