Maggie Malone captured the javelin title at the Kansas Relays.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Finish with Seven Event Titles at Kansas Relays

By NU Athletic Communications

Lawrence, Kan. – The 2014 Kansas Relays came to a close at Rock Chalk Park in Lawrence, Kan., on Saturday as the Huskers added three titles. Completing four days of competition, Nebraska came away with seven total event wins.

Maggie Malone took home top honors in the women’s javelin, giving the Huskers three wins in the throwing events at the Kansas Relays. Malone recorded a throw of 159-10 (48.72) on her first attempt of the competition and held off the rest of the competition through the next five rounds to earn the title. Sarah Firestone finished sixth with a throw of 137-7 (41.95).

Ellie Grooters came up with the win in the women’s 400-meter hurdles. Grooters, who has continued to progress throughout the outdoor season, set another personal best on Saturday, crossing the finish line in 59.16. Her time ranks fourth in the Big Ten.

Levi Gipson, Drew Wiseman, Jake Bender and Cody Rush added another win as they propelled the men’s 4x400-meter relay team to the victory with a season-best time of 3:09.79.

Will Lohman posted a runner-up finish in the men’s shot put. He tallied a throw of 59-0 (17.98) on his second throw of the competition and held on to earn the second-place standing. Chad Wright followed his lead with a third-place finish and throw of 58-8 ¾ (17.90). Carlie Pinkelman led the Scarlet and Cream in the women’s shot put with a throw of 50-10 (15.49). Annie Jackson finished fifth with a throw of 50-6 (15.39) and Veronica Grizzle came in sixth with a throw of 49-4 ¼ (15.04).

In the men’s pole vault, Craig Driver posted the top finish for NU, coming in fifth with a personal-best vault of 17-1 (5.21). Steven Cahoy followed in seventh-place, also clearing 17-1 (5.21).

Moving to the women’s long jump, Jazmin McCoy came in fourth with a season-best leap of 19-10 ¾ (6.06), while Mollie Gribbin came in fifth with a personal-best mark of 19-4 ¾ (5.91).  Kari Heck finished seventh as she posted a leap of 19-2 ¾ (5.86). On the men’s side, Seth Wiedel notched a second-place finish with a season-best leap of 24-5 ¾ (7.46) on his final attempt. Devandrew Johnson finished 10th with a leap of 23-7 ½ (7.20).

TIbor Koroknai guided the men in the 400-meter hurdles, finishing second with a time of 52.09, while Mate Koroknai was third with a time of 52.16. Sean Pille finished fourth with a time of 52.37, and Drew Wiseman came in sixth with a time of 52.62, followed by Jodi-Rae Blackwood at seventh with a time of 53.87.

In the women’s 200 meters, Mara Weekes came through with a seventh-place finish and a time of 24.05. Tim Thompson finished fourth in the men’s 100 meters with a windy season-best time of 10.42. Ellen Dougherty then tallied a fifth-place finish in the women’s 800 meters with a time of 2:12.27. In the men’s 110-meter hurdles, Sean Pille crossed the finish line in 14.01, setting a new personal best. Connor Gibson took to the track in the men’s 1,500 meters as he finished third with a time of 3:58.13.

The women’s 4x100-meter relay team (Tierra Williams, Mara Weekes, Brena Andrews, Breunna McCarty) crossed the finish line in 46.14 to come in second, while the men’s team (Welk, McKenzie, Blackwood, Thompson) also posted a second-place finish with a time of 40.72.

In other action for the Huskers at the Mt. SAC Relays in Walnut, Calif., Miles Ukaoma came in second in the men’s 400-meter hurdles as he recorded a season-best time of 49.76. Ukaoma was just one of three collegians competing in the race.

The Huskers also had a small contingent competing at the Beach Track & Field Invitational hosted by Cerritos College on Saturday. In the men’s 800 meters, Jacob Holtmeier finished 15th with a time of 1:51.71, while Alney Tobias posted a time of 1:52.24 and Jacob Olson tallied a time of 1:53.45. Sidney Madlock notched a time of 1:53.84.  

The Huskers return home to Ed Weir Stadium on Wednesday, April 23 for the Pre-Drake Meet, beginning at 3 p.m.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub