Cole Ingram won the men's hammer throw with a personal best on Sunday.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Wrap-Up Regular Season with Nebraska Invite

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln, Neb. – The Nebraska track and field team closed the 2013 regular season on Sunday with the Nebraska Invitational at Ed Weir Stadium. The Huskers came away with 18 event wins as they tuned up for the Big Ten Outdoor Championships next weekend in Columbus, Ohio.

Veronica Grizzle won the women’s hammer throw as she posted a personal-best toss of 186-2 (56.74), which ranks 10th in the conference. Mary Morales finished second in the event with a mark of 177-0 (53.94), while Carlie Pinkelman was third with a throw of 173-0 (52.73). Morales ranks 14th in the conference, while Pinkelman is 19th.

Cole Ingram notched the men’s hammer throw title with a personal-best throw of 190-3 (58.00) which keeps him at 16th in the conference.  Jacob Griess tallied a second-place finish with a personal-best throw of 178-4 (54.35), which ranks 20th in the conference.

Pinkelman won the women’s shot put with a season-best throw of 51-4 ¼ (15.65) to rank sixth in the conference, while Tristen Sharp was second with a season-best throw of 46-11 ½ (14.31). Sharp moved up to 13th in the conference with that mark. Chad Wright was the top collegiate finisher in the men’s shot put, posting a mark of 58-9 ¼ (17.91). Taylor Shapland came in third with a season-best throw of 55-3 ¾ (16.86). Former Husker Luke Pinkelman won the event with a throw of 62-5 ¾ (19.04). In addition, Annie Jackson posted a discus throw of 151-6 (46.12). Landon Nelson took the men’s javelin title with a personal-best throw of 197-4 (60.15), a mark that moves him to 10th in the conference.

Teddy Lampkin finished first in the men’s long jump with a season-best jump of 23-8 (7.21), while Justin English as second with a mark of 21-10 ¾ (6.67). Bobby Carter recorded a jump of 17-8 ¾ (5.40). Rashad Moxey recorded the top collegiate mark in the men’s triple jump with a season-best leap of 44-8 ¾ (13.63).

Marusa Cernjul won the women’s high jump with a leap of 5-8 ½ (1.74), while Jillanna Scanlan was second with a mark of 5-7 (1.70). Katie Smith recorded a leap of 5-3 (1.60) for fourth. Carlos Hernandez won the men’s high jump with a season-best leap of 6-11 ½ (2.12) that ties for eighth in the conference.

Christian Sanderfer recorded a pole vault of 16-0 ¾ (4.90) for first in the event. Bjorn Barrefors finished third with a mark of 15-7 (4.75), while Kyle Craw was fourth with a mark of 15-1 (4.60). Maggie Maher won the event on the women’s side with a vault of 12-3 ½ (3.75). Tess Merrill also finished with a mark of 12-3 ½ (3.75).

In the women’s 100 meters, Mara Weekes finished first with a season-best time of 11.66. McCarty finished fifth with a season-best time of 12.13.

In the men’s 400 meters, Levi Gipson posted a time of 47.12 for first. Jake Bender finished third with a season-best time of 48.82. On the women’s side, Lexie Oak recorded a season-best time of 56.44 for second, while Morgan Woitzel finished third with a time of 57.32.

In the women’s 800 meters, Jelena Andjelkovic posted a time of 2:12.23 for first-place. Anna Minnick finished third with a time of 2:17.87. Alney Tobias posted a personal-best time of 1:51.82 in the men’s 800 meters for third.

Trevor Vidlak notched a first-place finish in the men’s 1,500 meters with a time of 3:53.96. Sarah Plambeck finished third on the women’s side with a time of 4:43.15. Hannah Edwards won the women’s 5,000 meters with a time of 18:40.41.

In the men’s 110-meter hurdles, Oladapo Akinmoladun finished first with a season-best time of 14.25 that ranks 12th in the conference. Sean Pille finished second with a time of 14.38.

Ellie Grooters won the women’s 400-meter hurdles with a time of 1:00.19, marking a season-best. She ranks ninth in the conference in the event.

The women’s 4x100-meter relay team of Kari Heck, Mara Weekes, Lexie Oak and Breunna McCarty took the event title with a season-best time of 45.90. The time ranks sixth in the conference.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Track and Field Dec. 15
Track and Field Dec. 9
Track and Field Nov. 15


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub