The Huskers are looking to crown their first-ever Big Ten champion.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Three Huskers Punch Tickets to Big Ten Finals

By NU Athletic Communications

Madison, Wis. – Juniors Jake Sueflohn (149), James Green (157) and Robert Kokesh (174) each won their respective semifinal matches on Saturday to advance to Sunday’s Big Ten Finals at the Kohl Center.

The Huskers are in sixth place heading into Sunday’s action with 68 points. Penn State (122) narrowly leads Iowa by one point in the team race, while Minnesota (86), Ohio State (73.5) and Illinois (69.5) round out the top five.

Sueflohn, the top seed at 149 pounds, battled fifth-seeded Eric Grajales of Michigan in the semifinals and emerged with an 8-6 decision. Sueflohn, a Wisconsin native, advances to the Big Ten Finals for the second consecutive year and extends his winning streak to 16 matches. He will battle No. 3 seed Jason Tsirtsis of Northwestern on Sunday for the conference crown.

Green also advances to the conference final for the second straight time following his 7-3 triumph over Minnesota’s Dylan Ness. Green, the No. 2 seed at 157 pounds, improves to 28-1 on the season and will face No. 4 seed Derek St. John of Iowa for the first time since Green’s victory on Jan. 18.

Kokesh, the top seed at 174 pounds, completed the trio of Huskers in the finals after his 3-2 decision over fellow South Dakota native Logan Storley in the semifinals. Kokesh earned a first-period takedown to build a 2-1 lead before Storley escaped in the second to knot the score heading to the third stanza. Starting from the down position, Kokesh escaped and held on for the win to pick up his 99th career victory.

He improves to 31-1 on the season and wins his 17th bout in a row. Kokesh is set to battle No. 3 seed Mike Evans of Iowa for the Big Ten title on Sunday.

Tim Lambert (125) and Austin Wilson (165) each reeled off a pair of victories in Session II after dropping quarterfinals matches in Session I. Lambert started by topping Indiana’s Alonzo Shepherd, 5-0, before dropping No. 7 seed Camden Eppert of Purdue, 5-2. Lambert will grapple fourth-seeded Ryan Taylor of Wisconsin for a spot in the third-place match on Sunday.

Wilson opened the second session with a 10-1 major decision over Joe Grandominico of Ohio State before notching a 5-1 triumph over No. 4 seed Dan Yates of Michigan. Wilson faces No. 6 seed Danny Zilverberg of Minnesota for a spot in the third-place bout.

Shawn Nagel (133), Caleb Kolb (197) and Collin Jensen (HWT) each suffered losses in the opening round of consolation matches, but bounced back with victories to advance to Sunday’s ninth-place matches.

Redshirt freshman TJ Dudley (184) and true freshman Colton McCrystal (141) were each eliminated following their second losses at the Big Ten Championships. Dudley is 25-6 on the season, while McCrystal is 16-15.

Sunday’s action begins at 11 a.m. CT with Session III, which will be streamed on the Big Ten Digital Network. The championship finals are set for a 1 p.m. start on the Big Ten Network. Complete tournament information can be found at

Big Ten Championships Results
Through Session II
March 8-9, 2014
Kohl Center, Madison, Wis.

125 pounds
First Round:
#6 Tim Lambert (NEB) by major dec. over Brenan Lyon (MSU), 13-1

Quarterfinals: #3 Cory Clark (IOWA) by major dec. over #6 Tim Lambert (NEB), 10-2
Consolation First Round: #6 Tim Lambert (NEB) by dec. over Alonzo Shepherd (IND), 5-0
Consolation Quarterfinals: #6 Tim Lambert (NEB) by dec. over #7 Camden Eppert (PUR), 5-2

133 pounds
First Round:
#8 Rossi Bruno (MICH) by dec. over #9 Shawn Nagel (NEB), 6-5

Consolation First Round: #7 Jimmy Gulibon (PSU) by dec. over #9 Shawn Nagel (NEB), 9-4
Ninth-Place Semifinal: #9 Shawn Nagel (NEB) by dec. over #11 Joe Duca (IND), 6-1

141 pounds
First Round:
#1 Zain Retherford (PSU) by major dec. over Colton McCrystal (NEB), 8-0

Consolation First Round: #7 Steven Rodrigues (ILL) by dec. over Colton McCrystal (NEB), 6-1

149 pounds
First Round:
#1 Jake Sueflohn (NEB) Bye

Quarterfinals: #1 Jake Sueflohn (NEB) by major dec. over Nick Trimble (MSU), 17-5
Semifinals: #1 Jake Sueflohn (NEB) by dec. over #5 Eric Grajales (MICH), 8-6

157 pounds
First Round:
#2 James Green (NEB) Bye

Quarterfinals: #2 James Green (NEB) by pin over #7 Zac Brunson (ILL), 2:15
Semifinals: #2 James Green (NEB) by dec. over #3 Dylan Ness (MINN), 7-3

165 pounds
First Round:
#8 Austin Wilson (NEB) by dec. over #9 Pat Robinson (PUR), 4-1

Quarterfinals: #1 David Taylor (PSU) by tech. fall over #8 Austin Wilson (NEB), 22-4
Consolation First Round: #8 Austin Wilson (NEB) by major dec. over #10 Joe Grandominico (OSU), 10-2
Consolation Quarterfinals: #8 Austin Wilson (NEB) by dec. over #4 Dan Yates (MICH), 5-1

174 pounds
First Round:
#1 Robert Kokesh (NEB) Bye
#1 Robert Kokesh (NEB) by pin over #8 Collin Zeerip (MICH), 4:28

Semifinals: #1 Robert Kokesh (NEB) by dec. over #4 Logan Storley (MINN), 3-2

184 pounds
First Round:
#4 TJ Dudley (NEB) Bye

Quarterfinals: #5 Domenic Abounader (MICH) by dec. over #4 TJ Dudley (NEB), 5-4
Consolation First Round: John Rizqallah (MSU) by tiebreaker 1 over #4 TJ Dudley (NEB), 7-6

197 pounds
First Round:
#7 Alex Polizzi (NW) by sudden victory 2 over #10 Caleb Kolb (NEB), 6-4

Consolation First Round: #8 Timmy McCall (WIS) by dec. over #10 Caleb Kolb (NEB), 5-3
Ninth-Place Semifinal: #10 Caleb Kolb (NEB) by dec. over #11 Chris Heald (MICH), 6-1

First Round:
#8 Jon Gingrich (PSU) by major dec. over #9 Collin Jensen (NEB), 12-3

Consolation First Round: #7 Connor Medbery (WIS) by dec. over #9 Collin Jensen (NEB), 5-2
Ninth-Place Semifinal: #9 Collin Jensen (NEB) by dec. over #11 Alex White (PUR), 3-1


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub