Anne Martin was one of three Huskers a perfect GPA this season.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Nebraska Student-Athletes Honored with Academic All-Big Ten Accolades

By NU Athletic Communications

A total of 89 Nebraska student-athletes were recognized Wednesday as Academic All-Big Ten recipients. The list of honored Nebraska student-athletes includes 36 track and field athletes, 15 baseball players, seven softball players and men’s golfers, six women’s tennis players, five women’s golfers, four bowlers, four rifle athletes, three men’s tennis players and two sand volleyball players.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Among the 1,279 spring and at-large sports student-athletes recognized by the Big Ten Conference, a total of 24 maintained an unblemished cumulative GPA. Nebraska student-athletes with a perfect GPA included Ryan Grassel (Jr., Men’s Golf, Global Studies/Political Science), Anne Martin (Sr., Women’s Track, Elementary Education) and Katie White (Sr., Women’s Track, Nutrition Science).

Martin and White led a group of 36 members of Coach Gary Pepin’s track team, including 16 members of the men’s team that won the 2013 Big Ten Outdoor Championship, who received Academic All-Big Ten honors. Among that group, many have received multiple academic all-conference recognition. Repeat Academic All-Big Ten honorees include, Bjorn Barrefors, Tommy Brinn, Travis Englund, Mara Griva, Veronica Grizzle, Ellie Grooters, Jarren Heng, Anne Martin, Kara Mostoller, Patrick Raedler, Jordan Stiens, Teran Walford, Lauren Welch, Katie White, Seth Wiedel and Morgan Wilken.

Honorees from Coach Darin Erstad’s baseball team included Luke Bublitz, Aaron Bummer, Chad Christensen, Taylor Fish, Ryan Hander, Blake Headley, Zach Hirsch, Ty Kildow, Tyler King, Kyle Kubat, Tyler Niederklein, Bryan Peters, Josh Scheffert, Logan Thune and Dylan Vogt. Coach Rhonda Revelle saw Husker softball players Gabby Banda, Jordan Bettiol, Tatum Edwards, Mattie Fowler, Kylee Muir, Megan Southworth and Brooke Thomason honored for their academic achievement as they enter the Women’s College World Series.

Grassel led the way for Bill Spangler’s group which also included Ross Dickson, Neil Dufford, Kevin Gillick, Manuel Lavin, Jordan Reinertson and Josh Reinertson. Honorees on the women’s golf team included Jackie O’Doherty, Morgan Smejkal, Cassidy Stelzmiller and Katelyn Wright.

Players honored by the Big Ten from the 2013 Big Ten Champion women’s tennis team included NCAA Doubles All-Americans Patricia Veresova, Mary Weatherholt, Janine Weinreich, Stefanie Weinstein, Maike Zeppernick and Izabella Zgierska. The men’s tennis team saw Sebastian Florczyk, Eric Sock and Brandon Videtich all earn honors.

Among the women’s rifle team members honored were Kelsey Hansen, Joyce Kim, Sunny Russell and Katelyn Woltersdorf. Honorees for Coach Bill Straub’s National Champion bowling team included Amanda Burau, Liz Kuhlkin, Yan Ling and Kristi Mickelson. Two women’s sand volleyball players were also honored as Morgan Broekhuis and Hayley Thramer earned academic accolades.

The conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award in July. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub