Six of the eight Nebraska women's tennis players earn Academic All-Big Ten.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Grab Academic All-Conference Honors

By NU Athletic Communications

The Huskers show that they can get the job done both on and off the court. Six of the eight players on the Nebraska women's tennis team earned Academic All-Big Ten accolades for the 2013 season. The players who received the honors are seniors Patricia Veresova, Mary Weatherholt, Janine Weinreich, and Stefanie Weinstein, along with junior Maike Zeppernicka and sophomore Izabella Zgierska.

Veresova is a senior business administration major from Piestany, Slovakia who snatched her second straight Academic All-Big Ten and third conference honor after earning First-Team Academic All-Big 12 in 2011. 

Weinstein is a senior business administration major from Much, Germany who just graduated and earned her degree in May of 2013. This is her third Academic All-Conference accolade receiving her second straight from the Big Ten and one from the Big 12 in 2011.

Weinreich is a senior international business management and marketing major from Tespe, Germany who also graduated to earn her degree this spring. She snags her second Academic All-Big Ten and her third Academic All-Conference honor including one from the Big 12 in 2011.

Weatherholt, a senior native of Prairie Village, Kan., is a graduate student during her final season of Nebraska women's tennis after graduating in 2012 with business administration degree. She also has three Academic All-Conference honors with two from the Big Ten and one from the Big 12. Weatherholt also earned the Nebraska Female Student Athlete of the Year award for 2013, the National ITA Cissie Leary Sportsmanship award, her third consecutive Nebraska Student-Athlete HERO Leadership award, and Big Ten Women's Tennis Athlete of the Year for her second straight season before becoming the 2013 NCAA Singles Championship runner-up for 2013 losing to the defending champion Nicole Gibbs of Stanford. Weatherholt became the first ever singles All-American in program history and teamed with Veresova to be the second duo for Nebraska to become All-Americans in doubles.

Zeppernick is a junior business administration major from Hamburg, Germany receiving her second consecutive Academic All-Big Ten.

Zgierska is a sophomore international business major from Miesbach, Germany earning her first Academic All-Big Ten honors after being a freshman last season deeming her ineligible for the award.

All of these players received Academic All-Big Ten in 2012 except Izabella Zgierska who was a freshman at the time. This isn't the only award the Huskers have grabbed due to their performance in the lecture halls as they received the Nebraska Herman Award earlier in the spring. The Herman goes to one men's and one women's team with the highest average GPA among all sports of both genders. This marks the third year straight that the women's tennis squad has won the Herman and had the majority of their team qualify for Academic All-Conference.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

The conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award in July. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.


Nebraska Women's Tennis Academic All-Big Ten Selections

  • Patricia Veresova (Sr.) - Business Administration (Piestany, Slovakia)
  • Mary Weatherholt (Sr.) - Business Administration (Prairie Village, Kan.)
  • Janine Weinreich (Sr.) - International Business Management and Marketing (Tespe, Germany)
  • Stefanie Weinstein (Sr.) - Business Administration (Much, Germany)
  • Maike Zeppernick (Jr.) - Business Administration (Hamburg, Germany)
  • Izabella Zgierska (So.) - International Business (Miesbach, Germany)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub