Nebraska Cross Country - Pioneers Park

Pioneers Park

The Nebraska cross country program hosts the Woody Greeno/Dirksen Invitational each year at Pioneers Park.

Located in southwest Lincoln, the Huskers home course is Pioneers Park where Nebraska annually hosts the Woody Greeno/Dirksen Invitational. The meet will celebrate its 28th year of competition in 2018 and is one of the largest annual races in the Midwest, as nearly 700 athletes compete. Pioneers Park holds a challenging 5,000-meter course that rolls over the tree-covered hills in the 900-acre park.

Nebraska has captured 13 men's titles and 17 women's titles, including the 2015 men's crown. The Huskers swept the 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009 University titles. A total of 10 Nebraska athletes have captured 13 individual titles, including Fran ten Bensel, who won three consecutive titles in the 1990s. Anna Peer cruised to the women's title in 2014, while Joe Harter won the University division and finished second overall in 2014.

Listed as one of the top five “most fit” cities in the nation, Lincoln has more than 128 miles of biking and hiking trails for the Huskers to train on. The cross country team can also practice on Nebraska's world-class indoor track at the Devaney Center, its outdoor track at Ed Weir Stadium or on indoor field turf at the Hawks Championship Center.