Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Finish Second at Warhawk Invitational

By NU Athletic Communications

Kenosha, Wis. - The second-ranked Nebraska bowling team finished second at the Warhawk Invitational after falling to third-ranked Arkansas State in the championship final of the best-of-seven Baker format championship tournament Sunday in Kenosha, Wis.

The Cornhuskers finished the weekend with a total pinfall of 14,062 and a final record of 12-1.

The Huskers began Sunday’s play undefeated and as the top seed. After winning their first game against, Arkansas State 4-3, NU advanced to the championship match. 

The Red Wolves continued on to beat No. 4 Vanderbilt for the other spot in the championship match. 

 Nebraska won the first game before Arkansas State came back to win the second. The Huskers responded with two consecutive wins before Arkansas State prevailed, winning the last three games 178-277, 193-211, and 171-216.

“There is an oddity here,” said Head Coach Bill Straub, “The team that beat us had nine wins and four losses and we had twelve wins and one loss. We just play by the rules and I can’t complain because we had a great fall season.”

Senior Julia Bond finished second overall with an average of 234.8, a mark that is the tenth-highest single-tournament average in program history. 

Raquel Orozco also landed in the top-five, as she finished fifth after posting an average of 222.

The Huskers will return to the lanes following Winter Break at the Mid-Winter Classic in Jonesboro, Ark., the weekend of Jan 12-14, 2018. NU finished seventh at the 2016 edition of the tournament, after finishing in the top five in every year in which it had competed from 2007 to 2015. Nebraska won the tournament in 2013 and 2017.

Warhawk Invitational Final Standings

1.    No. 3 Arkansas State

2.    No. 2 Nebraska

3.    No. 4 Vanderbilt 

4.    No. 1 McKendree

5.    No. 15 Adelphi

6.    No. 10 Central Missouri

7.    No. 6 Stephen F. Austin

8.    No. 8 Fairleigh Dickenson

9.    6. No. 14 St. Francis

10. Maryville

11. No. 9 Sacred Heart

12. Lincoln Memorial (RV)

13. No. 13 Monmouth

14.  No. 16 Long Island Brooklyn

15. No. 11 Wisconsin-Whitewater


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub