Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Husker Divers Set for Zones

By NU Athletic Communications

All-American Abigail Knapton will lead a strong Nebraska contingent at the NCAA Zone D Diving Championships at the Jean Freeman Aquatic Center in Minneapolis, Minn., March 5-7.

Knapton pulled in a victory at the 2017 Zone D Diving Championships in the platform diving event. The Omaha native is coming off of a ninth-place finish on the three-meter and a 10th-place finish on the platform dives at the 2018 Big Ten Championships. Knapton also finished fourth place on the platform board at the 2017 NCAA Championships.

Nebraska's Katrina Voge added a 22nd-place finish on platform at the Big Ten Championships. The junior from Franklin, Wis., posted a 416.40 in the finals of the platform event her with a 17th-place finish at the 2017 Zone D Diving Championships giving.

The NCAA Zone Diving Championships serve as qualifiers for the NCAA Championships, with the top five female competitors from each event at their respective zone meet automatically advancing to the national championships. Additional place finishers in each event at each zone are eligible based on the number of student-athletes from that zone who finished in the top 16 in that event at the previous year's NCAA Championships.

Based on the 2017 NCAA performances, Zone D will advance 11 women on one-meter, and nine on the three-meter board and the platform, according to information provided by the University of Minnesota.

Zone D consists of divers from 18 NCAA Division I schools. A total of five NCAA Zone Diving Championships will be occurring March 5-10, including Zone A at Rutgers University, Zone B at University of Tennessee, Zone C at The Ohio State University and Zone E at Northern Arizona.

The 2018 NCAA Championships will be held in Columbus, Ohio, March 14-17.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub