Photo by None

Lloyd Named B1G Indoor Track Athlete of the Year

By NU Athletic Communications

LINCOLN, Neb. – Nebraska track and field senior Antoine Lloyd was named the Big Ten Indoor Track Athlete of the Year on Tuesday, as voted on by the conference’s head coaches.

A native of Kentwood, Michigan, Lloyd is the first Husker male to be named a Big Ten track or field athlete of the year since the Huskers joined the conference in 2011-12. Lloyd finished second in the 60-meter hurdles at the NCAA Indoor Championships with a school-record time of 7.60 on Saturday. He achieved first-team All-America honors in the event for the first time and was one of just three Big Ten male athletes to finish in the top three in an event.

Lloyd was the Big Ten indoor champion in the 60-meter hurdles this season for the first time in his career as well. He won that race with a then-personal-best time of 7.68.

Lloyd’s PR of 7.60 at the NCAA Championships topped Oladapo Akinmoladun’s 7.61 set in 2014. He finished second only to Florida's Grant Holloway, the NCAA record holder in the 60-meter hurdles who won the event for the second straight year with a time of 7.47.

Lloyd competed in seven 60-meter hurdles finals in 2018 and was the top collegiate finisher in all seven races.

Men’s Awards
Track Athlete of the Year: Antoine Lloyd, NEB
Field Athlete of the Year: David Lucas, PSU
Freshman of the Year: Terrance Laird, PSU 

Women’s Awards
Track Athlete of the Year: Brionna Thomas, PUR
Field Athlete of the Year: Kaitlyn Long, MINN
Freshman of the Year: Anavia Battle, OSU


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub