Chris Stephenson earned his third Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award for the 2017-18 school year, after finishing with a perfect 4.0 GPA.
Photo by Stephanie Carpenter/Nebraska Communications

Six Huskers Named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars

By NU Athletic Communications

Six members of the Nebraska men's gymnastics team were named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars on Tuesday. The six honorees ranked second among Big Ten men's gymnastics programs. Ohio State had seven award winners.

Joshua Everitt, Evan Hymanson, Alex Magsam, Brenon Sommers, Anton Stephenson and Chris Stephenson were all recognized for their performance in the classroom during the 2017-18 academic year. Chris Stephenson, a biological sciences major, led the group with a perfect 4.0 GPA during the 2017-18 school year and earned his third Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award. Everitt also earned the award for the third time in his career. Magsam and Anton Stephenson earned the award for the second time, while Hymanson and Sommers were first-time recipients.

The list includes student-athletes from all 14 Big Ten institutions and 38 different sports who have recorded a minimum grade-point average (GPA) of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year. 

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only students with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student's academic career.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub