Photo by Josh Wenger/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Earn ITA All-Academic Team Honors

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln, Neb. -- The Nebraska men’s tennis team earned an Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Team award, as four Huskers were named ITA Scholar-Athletes after the organization announced its annual academic awards on Tuesday.

Seniors Linus Erhart, Rok Krizaj, Jon Meyer and sophomore William Grattan-Smith each received accolades for their academic efforts in 2017-18.

The Huskers were one of seven teams in the Big Ten Conference to earn team honors as Illinois, Indiana, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State and Penn State also earned the award. 

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status, a player must be a varsity letterwinner, have a 3.50 or higher GPA (on a 4.00 scale) and have been enrolled at their current school for at least two semesters. To earn the All-Academic Team award, teams must have a combined GPA of 3.20 or higher.

Earlier this year, Erhart was named a CoSIDA First-Team Academic All-American as only the second player to do so in school history, along with Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and Academic All-Big Ten accolades. Both Krizaj and Meyer also collected Academic-All Big Ten nominations in 2017 and 2018, while Grattan-Smith earned his first academic award with the ITA Scholar-Athlete honors.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub