Photo by Josh Wenger/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Earn ITA All-Academic Team Honors

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln, Neb. -- The Nebraska women’s tennis team earned an Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Team award, as six Huskers were named ITA Scholar-Athletes after the organization announced its annual academic awards on Tuesday.

Seniors Marina Cozac and Paula Del Cueto Castillo and juniors Hayley Haakenstad, Claire Reifeis and Jeannie Lozowski were honored for their academic efforts in 2017-18. All will return to the Huskers next season. Katerina Matysova, who expired her eligibility in May, was also honored for her efforts.

The Huskers were one of twelve teams in the Big Ten Conference to earn team honors as Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Rutgers also earned the award. 

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status, a player must be a varsity letterwinner, have a 3.50 or higher GPA (on a 4.00 scale) and have been enrolled at their current school for at least two semesters. To earn the All-Academic Team award, teams must have a combined GPA of 3.20 or higher.

Matysova is a four-time ITA Scholar-Athlete while Del Cueto Castillo has been honored three times in her career. Haakenstad, Reifeis, Cozac and Lozowski are all two-time honorees. Del Cueto Castillo, Haakenstad, Lozowski and Reifeis were each named to the Academic All-Big Ten team in 2018.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub