Chanel Freeman ran the ninth-fastest 100m hurdles time in school history (13.33w) at the Texas Tech Shootout.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Nebraska Claims 13 Titles at Texas Tech Shootout

By NU Athletic Communications

LUBBOCK, Texas - The Nebraska track and field team finished as the runner-up at the Texas Tech Shootout on Friday.

The Nebraska men finished with 139 points in the triangular. Texas Tech won the men's title with 147 points and Wichita State was third with 103 points.

The Husker women racked up 144 points to also finish as the runner-up. The Red Raider women won the team crown with 157 points and the Shockers were third with 94 points.

Overall, Nebraska piled up 13 event titles and had four additions to the NU top-10 list. The Huskers won seven events on the track and six titles in the field.

Nebraska set the tone early with two additions to the NU top-10 list in the field. Anna Purchase won the women's hammer throw with a PR of 194-8 (59.34m), good for the ninth-best throw in school history. James Joycey won the men's hammer throw with a personal-best toss of 203-4 (61.99m). Joycey's throw was the 10th-best throw in program history.

Chase Wolinski claimed the women's javelin title with a distance of 165-10 (50.54m). Alex Meyer won the women's discus with a throw of 175-9 (53.57m). Burger Lambrechts Jr. took the men's shot put title with a toss of 62-1 3/4 (18.94m).

Jace Anderson claimed the triple jump crown with a mark of 46-11 3/4 (14.32m)w.

On the track, Nebraska had two additions to the all-time top-10 list in the women's 100-meter hurdles. Jasmine Barge was the runner-up in the event with a PR time of 13.09w, good for No. 4 all-time in school history. Chanel Freeman was fourth in the event with a personal-best time of 13.33w, and that time was good for the No. 9 spot all-time at Nebraska.

Luke Siedhoff won the 110-meter hurdles with a season-best time of 13.76w.

A trio of sprinters claimed event titles. Lakayla Harris won the women's 100 meters in a time of 11.57w. Mason Hericks claimed the men's 200-meter title with a season-best time of 20.98w. Tony Nou was victorious in the men's 400 meters with a season-best time of 47.36.

Two Huskers from the distance squad won their respective events. Mia Morck claimed the 800-meter title with a time of 2:11.32. Judi Jones won the women's 1,500-meter crown with a PR time of 4:34.50. 

The women's 4x100-meter relay squad took the title with a season-best time of 44.63.

The Huskers conclude the regular season by hosting the Nebraska Invitational next Saturday at Ed Weir Stadium. The meet starts at 10 a.m. and admission is free.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub