Photo by None

Wolinski Wins Gold at Big Ten Championships

By NU Athletic Communications

IOWA CITY, Iowa -  Chase Wolinski and Brittni Wolczyk both won medals on the opening day of the Big Ten Track and Field Championships at the Francis X. Cretzmeyer Track on Friday.

Through three scored events, the Husker women are first with 22 total points, while the Nebraska men are eighth after four events with 10 points.

Wolinski earned Nebraska's first gold medal of the meet, winning the women's javelin with a PR throw of 180-1 (54.90m). Not only was her final throw a PR and secured her spot as the Big Ten Champion, it also moved Wolinski up to No. 5 on the NU top-10 list. It was Wolinski's first medal finish at the conference championships after finishing fourth last season and sixth in 2017.

"Last year I was fourth and so close to getting a medal," said Wolinski. "It feels good to actually medal and score points for my team, knowing I am pushing us towards hopefully winning this whole thing."

Wolcyzk also reached the podium in the women's javelin, finishing third and winning bronze with a throw of 169-4 (51.61m). This marked the fourth consecutive time Wolczyk has placed in the top-three at the Big Ten Championships. Wolczyk was the runner-up in both 2016 and 2018 and won the event in 2017.

Sydney Otto, Anna Purchase and Erika Freyhof all moved up on the NU top-10 list. Sydney Otto finished fourth in the javelin with a PR of 166-9 (50.84m) and is now No. 8 in school history. Anna Purchase was eighth in the hammer throw with a personal-best throw of 199-3 (60.74m), good for No. 4 on the NU top-10 list. Erika Freyhof finished 12th in the 10,000 meters with a PR time of 34:16.54 and is now No. 5 all-time at Nebraska in the event.

Kevin Cahoy and Garrison Hughes scored the first points for the Nebraska men. Cahoy finished fourth in the pole vault with a PR clearance of 17-1 (5.21m) and Hughes was seventh, going over 16-5 1/4 (5.01m).

Eric Garner also added three points for the men's team, placing sixth in the javelin with a distance of 203-6 (62.03m).

Jared Seay leads all decathletes after five events with a score of 4,130. Cale Wagner is in eighth place with a total of 3,741 points and Zach Podraza is 11th with a score of 3,612. Seay won the decathlon high jump with a personal-best leap of 6-10 1/4 (2.09m). Seay was also second in the 100 meters (10.90) and long jump 23-6 (7.16m)w. Wagner finished first in the long jump with a season-best jump of 23-8 1/4 (7.22m)w. Podraza finished with PR's in both the long jump (22-11 1/4, 6.99m) and 400 meters (50.89).

Jasmine Barge automatically qualified for Sunday's final in the 400-meter hurdles, winning her heat in a time of 58.34. Michaela Peskova also qualified for the final, running the third-fastest overall time in the prelims with a season-best time of 58.67.

Lakayla Harris qualified for the 200-meter final on Sunday and won her heat in a time of 23.70.

George Kusche and Elsa Forsberg both qualified for the 1,500-meter final on Sunday in their respective sections. Kusche automatically qualified for the men's race and won his heat with a time of 3:44.81. Forsberg ran the 10th-fastest time overall in qualifying with a personal-best of 4:23.42.

The Huskers will resume their stay at the Big Ten Championships on Saturday. The meet will continue with conclusion of combined events beginning at 9:30 a.m., followed by field competition at 1:20 p.m. and action on the track at 4 p.m.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub