Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

116 Huskers Earn Academic All-Big Ten Accolades

By NU Athletic Communications

A total of 116 Nebraska student-athletes were recognized as Academic All-Big Ten honorees on Wednesday, when the conference announced its spring and at-large Academic All-Big Ten Teams.

The Husker track and field programs led the way with 55 combined student-athletes making the list. The women had 31 Academic All-Big Ten honorees, with Andy Jacobs and Maddie Holland each earning a spot on the team with a perfect 4.0 GPA. On the men’s side, 24 Huskers were honored with Givon Washington and Simon Wiedel each being recognized with a perfect 4.0 GPA. Nebraska’s baseball and softball teams were also well represented, with 14 and 11 Academic All-Big Ten selections, respectively. The Nebraska rifle team had eight student-athletes make the team, seven Husker bowlers were recognized and six women’s tennis players were honored, including Marina Cozac with a perfect 4.0 GPA. Nebraska’s men’s and women’s golf team each had five honorees, beach volleyball had three selections and men’s tennis had a pair of student-athletes recognized for their efforts in the classroom.

A full list of the spring and at-large Academic All-Big Ten Teams is in the related links, while Nebraska’s honorees are listed below. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must have been enrolled full-time at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.


Women’s Track and Field (31)

Alice Akers

Nicole Baker

Jasmine Barge

Kate Birchmier

Gabrielle Boucher

Emma Bresser

Shelby Brown

Rachel Brush

Nicole Colonna

Candice Dominguez

Elsa Forsberg

Erika Freyhof

Maddie Holland

Matty Hoskins

Kristina Insingo

Andy Jacobs

Kaitlynn Johnson

Taylor Johnson

Judi Jones

Petra Luteran

Angela Mercurio

Alex Meyer

Leah Meyer

Catherine Mick

Lara Omerzu

Madi Scholl

Ally Talpash

Ieva Turke

Brittni Wolczyk

Chase Wolinski

Madison Yerigan


Men’s Track and Field (24)

Jace Anderson

Bryce Barrett

Ryan Bates

Kevin Cahoy

Jordan De Spong

Mark Freyhof

Eric Garner

Mason Hericks

Eric Karl II

Karson LeComte

Tyler Loontjer

Noah Lukz

Ryan Martins

Wyatt McGuire

Cody Mroczek

Vincent Ohlman

Dalton Peters

Zach Podraza

Spencer Powell

Luke Siedhoff

George Siliman

Bailey Timmons

Givon Washington

Simon Wiedel

Baseball (14)

Joe Acker

Connor Curry

Reece Eddins

Nate Fisher

Ethan Frazier

Jaxon Hallmark

Gunner Hellstrom

Alex Henwood

Chad Luensmann

Robbie Palkert

Luke Roskam

Max Schreiber

Kennet Sorenson

Paul Tillotson

Softball (11)

Bree Boruff

Bri Cassidy

Tristen Edwards

Olivia Ferrell

Lexey Kneib

Regan Mergele

Ally Riley

Alyvia Simmons

Madi Unzicker

Rylie Unzicker

Sarah Yocom


Rifle (8)

Elizabeth Ewert

Kayla Gadeken

Maddie Korthas

Samantha Peterson

Nina Radulovic

Sarah Sutton

Hannah Virga

Rachel Yager


Bowling (7)

Alexa Fernández

Michelle Guarro

Allison Morris

Raquel Orozco

Estefania Prieto

Cassidy Ray

Meghan Straub


Women’s Tennis (6)

Marina Cozac

Elizabeth Gould

Hayley Haakenstad

Jeannie Lozowski

Claire Reifeis

Emma Worley


Men’s Golf (5)

Patrick Clare

Cameron Jones

Tanner Owen

Daniel Pearson

Jackson Wendling


Women’s Golf (5)

Noor Ahmed

Kirsten Baete

Kate Smith

Haley Thiele

Hannah Thiele


Beach Volleyball (3)

Hayley Densberger

Jazz Sweet

Anezka Szabo


Men’s Tennis (2)

Micah Klousia

Jon Meyer



More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub