Six members of the men's tennis team earned spots on the Tom Osborne Citizenship Team.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Six Huskers Earn Spot On Citizenship Team

By NU Athletic Communications

Six Huskers earned honors and awards at the HERO Leadership Award Breakfast on Monday. The Hero Leadership Breakfast capped a busy weekend of academic events, as the annual student-athlete Academic Banquet took place Sunday night in which eleven of the team's members earned medallions for academic standing.

At the breakfast, the inaugural Tom Osborne Citizenship Team was announced and HERO Leadership Awards were received. The inaugural team's list included 215 honorees across all 24 Husker varsity sports.

The Tom Osborne Citizenship Team was created to recognize the service to the community by Husker student-athletes and the contributions and ideals of legendary Husker Football Coach and Athletic Director Tom Osborne.

During his tenure as athletic director from 2007 until 2013, Osborne played a significant role in expanding Nebraska’s Life Skills department while encouraging total person development for Husker student-athletes.

To earn a spot on the Osborne Citizenship Team, student-athletes had to complete a minimum of six community service/leadership projects in the academic calendar year and remain in good academic standing.

In 2013-14, the 215 student athletes participated in 1,300 campus or community service projects including weekly mentoring, school outreach, hospital and hospice visits, awareness events, special needs programming, holiday outreach, statewide motivational assemblies and more.

Each of the recipients will receive a Tom Osborne Citizenship Team medallion.

Nebraska Men's Tennis 2014 Tom Osborne Citizenship Team Members

  • Court Clark
  • Scott Elsass
  • Sebastian Florczyk
  • Beau Treyz
  • Vasileios Stavropoulos
  • Tom Blackwell

At the Academic Banquet on Sunday night, eleven players received medallions for their academic standing based on GPA with 3.0-3.49 receiving Honors medallions, 3.50-3.749 receiving High Honors medallions and 3.75-4.0 receiving Highest Honors medallions.

Nebraska Men's Tennis Medallion Recipients


  • Tom Blackwell - honors
  • Dusty Boyer - honors
  • Andrew Dzulynsky - honors
  • Scott Elsass - honors
  • Sebastian Florczyk - high honors
  • Marc Herrmann - honors
  • Chris Schindler - high honors
  • Eric Sock (former) - honors
  • Andre Stenger (former) - high honors
  • Brandon Videtich - highest honors
  • Bradford Zitsch - high honors

Well over 700 people attended the 24th annual banquet, which also featured the announcement of other prestigious Nebraska team awards. The men’s golf team took home the male Herman Award.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub