Nebraska junior Rebekah Land won both the 50- and 100-yard backstrokes on Saturday
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Record Alumni Turnout Highlights Annual Meet

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln, Neb.- A record 44 Husker alumni returned to the Devaney Natatorium on Saturday morning for Nebraska's tenth-annual Alumni Meet. The alumni were declared the victors after winning seven of the meet's 13 events. 

Former Husker Mike Irvin won three events for the second-consecutive year, claiming the 100-yard individual medley and the 50- and 100-yard freestyles. The former All-American has competed in and won at least one event in all ten alumni meets.

Erik Wiken joined Irvin as the other multi-event winner for the alumni, taking the 25-yard freestyle and 50-yard butterfly titles. The two additional alumni victories came from Courtney (Jolly) Williams in the one-meter dive and the 200-yard medley relay team. 

The 2013-14 Huskers got two victories apiece from junior Rebekah Land and sophomore Katie Ditter. Land won the 50- and 100-yard backstrokes, while Ditter swam her way to victory in the 50- and 100-yard breaststrokes. 

The other two Husker victories came from Melisa Mexia in the 100-yard butterfly and the 200-yard freestyle relay team of Alex Bilunas, Taryn Collura, Bria Deveaux and Shannon Guy.

Nebraska has one week to prepare for its regular-season and home opener against Iowa State. The meet will take place at 10 a.m. next Saturday, Oct. 12, at the Devaney Natatorium. Check back in to for updates.

Complete List of Alumni in Attendance (Name, Graduation Year)

Kaitlin Arntz, 2010
Bobbi Balogh, 2012
Jane (Glazebrook) Bartee, 1995
Cal Bentz, 1955 *Coached last in 2000
Marci Bodner, 1994
Jack Borrett, 1999
Tad Borrett, 1991
Katie Bowden, 2007
Reynaldo Castro, 1985
Katie Davis, 2013
Claire Desormey, 2011
Ellan Dufour, 2013
Jana (Frymire) Flannigan, 1978
Julie Giehl, 2011
Kelly (Christensen) Hajdu, 1994
Kailey Harmon, 2013
Amy Herman, 2013
Esmie Holderman, 2006
Mariah Hutchinson, 2010
Bailey Ingles, 2007
Mike Irvin, 1989
Danielle Kaliff, 2007
Brandie Kavalec, 2011
Kristie Klein, 1995
Kelsey Larson, 2013
Mailene Leslie, 2008
Sharill Luedtke, 1986
Katie Luellen, 1995
Ryan Malone, 2000
Kate (Dulgar) Manstedt, 2006
Meredith Matthies, 2011
Rachell McClain, 2011
JB Newell, 1990
Ashley Reiter, 2013
CJ (Bray) Roberts, 2009
Rachel Schlatter, 2006
Casey Schnack, 2007
Ann Tidball, 1995
Jenny Toler, 2009
Ariel Weech, 2013
Sara Weinberg, 2013
Erik Wiken, 2001
Courtney (Jolly) Williams, 2009
Sarah Ziegelmann, 2010


More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Swimming and Diving Mar. 17
Swimming and Diving Mar. 16
Swimming and Diving Mar. 7
Swimming and Diving Feb. 17


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub