Student-Athlete Advisory Committee
2014-15 SAAC Members, serving as leaders and the voice of all Husker student-athletes.
Photo Courtesy Scott Bruhn/NU Media Relations
Courtesy: NU Media Relations
Send Mail Print RSS


Nebraska's Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) was implemented in 1987 to ensure that student-athletes have a voice regarding their total student-athlete experience. SAAC is a recognized student organization at the University of Nebraska and consists of at least one team appointed representative from each of Nebraska's 24 intercollegiate teams. SAAC meets bi-weekly throughout the academic year, communicating directly with Director of Athletics, Shawn Eichorst on various student-athlete welfare issues. SAAC also coordinates a number of events within the athletic department and in the community of Lincoln to promote the importance of education, service and responsible decision making. Nebraska's SAAC has been recognized across the country as one of the most comprehensive, consistent and productive in the country.  Life Skills Coordinator, Jordan Wilson serves as the SAAC advisor.


Mission & Values

SAAC serves as the voice of the student-athletes, developing and displaying LEADERSHIP by:

  • Exhibiting INTEGRITY through all actions.
  • Striving to EMPOWER growth and community within each respective team.
  • Fostering UNITY across the athletic department and student-athlete body.
  • Promoting STUDENT-ATHLETE WELFARE for the betterment of their collegiate experience.



 2013-2014 SAAC President

2014-2015 SAAC President, Mattie Fowler

For the 2014-2015 academic year, SAAC will be led by President Mattie Fowler (Softball), with support from Ian Ousley as the Vice President.  Jacqueline Juffer (Swimming & Diving) will function as the Big Ten Representative,  Alex Bilunas (Swimming & Diving) will serve as the Community Outreach officer, and Lotte Sjulin (Softball) will serve as Secretary.

Pictured left to right: Ian Ousley, Jacqueline Juffer, Alex Bilunas, Lotte Sjulin


Appointed SAAC Team Representatives

Student-Athlete Advisory Committee team representatives are determined and appointed by each respective intercollegiate team at Nebraska. In addition to attending bi-weekly meetings, SAAC representatives are responsible for communicating SAAC developments and opportunities to their teammates on an ongoing basis.  Representatives for the 2014-2015 year include:

Baseball - Kyle Kubat

Men's Basketball - Kye Kurkowski

Women's Basketball - Allie Havers and Esther Ramacieri

Bowling - Liz Kuhlkin

Men's Cross Country - Jonah Heng

Women's Cross Country - Sarah Larson

Football - Sam Burtch, Trey Foster, Graham Nabity, and Johnny Stanton

Men's Golf - Cameron Palmer and Aaron Wong

Women's Golf -  Morgan Smejkal and Cassie Deeg

Men's Gymnastics - Ethan Lottman and Grant Perdue

Women's Gymnastics - Desire Stephens and Hollie Blanske

Rifle -  Maggie Mical, and Marissa Major

Sand Volleyball - Kelly Hunter

Soccer - Sam Areman, Hannah Dittmar and Caroline Flynn

Softball - Mattie Fowler and Lotte Sjulin

Swimming and Diving - Alex Bilunas, Jacqueline Juffer and Katt Sickle

Men's Tennis - Chris Schindler and Ford Zitsch

Women's Tennis - Katerina Matysova and Spurti Shivalingaiah

Men's Track and Field - Jake Pinion and Cody Rush

Women's Track and Field - Melanie Blum and Sarah Firestone

Volleyball - Kira Larson

Wrestling - Ian Ousley, Jake Sueflohn, Timmy Lambert, and Josh Kettel


2014-2015 SAAC Meeting Dates

Mondays at 6:30 p.m. - Media Cafeteria, Level 6 of West Stadium, unless otherwise indicated

Sunday, August 24th - SAAC Retreat, 2:00pm, Memorial Stadium

September 8th

September 22nd

October 13th

October 27th

November 10th

November 24th

December 8th

January 11th

January 26th

February 9th

February 23rd

March 9th

March 30th

April 13th

April 20th - Officer Elections


SAAC 2013-2014 Year-In-Review

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) spent the 2013-2014 year with a heavy focus on leadership development. Each meeting they had a presentation and activity that focused on a different leadership topic ranging anywhere from mentoring to the bystander effect. Along with their dedication to redefining leadership, they also focused on cohesion and unity amongst the 600+ Husker student-athletes. Their biggest accomplishment of the year occurred this spring when Ian Ousley (Wrestling) and Sunny Russell (Rifle) attended the Big Ten SAAC Conference in Chicago, IL. There, the two represented Nebraska and once again addressed the issue of free tickets to Football and Men’s Basketball for all Big Ten student-athletes. This was allowed under the Big 12, but was not a benefit that athletes received under the Big Ten. With help and support from Compliance Director Jamie Vaughn, Ousley and Russell successfully accomplished their goal and the Big Ten conference approved their proposal.


2014-15 Projections

The future of SAAC looks bright for the 2014-2015 year as they will continue to enhance their relationship with Director of Athletics Shawn Eichorst and the Senior Management Team. They will have a strong emphasis on campus collaboration and will work to bridge the gap between the Association of Students of the University of Nebraska (ASUN) and other recognized student organizations on campus. The group of 40 will partner with Lincoln Public Schools to plan and host the second annual Link N Leaders event that will be held in the Spring of 2015. The event aims to recognize and integrate young leaders, grades third through sixth, in local schools with the leaders within our athletic department. SAAC also aims to begin a new tradition this year by hosting an all student-athlete day of service in May, that will form an even greater sense of camaraderie amongst the Huskers.
Uploaded Ad