Terran Petteway was named to the All-District VI team today.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Petteway Earns All-District Honors

By NU Athletic Communications

Nebraska sophomore Terran Petteway was honored Tuesday, as he was named a first-team District VI selection by U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Petteway has led the Huskers to a 19-11 record heading into this week’s Big Ten Tournament in Indianapolis, as he leads the Big Ten in scoring at 18.0 points per game, while adding 4.9 rebounds and 1.7 assists per outing. The 6-foot-6 sophomore has been in double figures in 28 of 30 games, including 11 20-point efforts. He had a career-high 35 points against Minnesota and had 30 points against UMass. He ranks third in the Big Ten in free throw percentage (.817) while his scoring average is the highest by a Husker since Tyronn Lue in 1996-97

The first-team All-Big Ten selection averaged 18.6 points and 5.1 rebounds per game in Big Ten action, while pacing the Huskers in both scoring and assists (37). He became the first NU player since Andre Smith in 1980-81 to lead a conference in scoring average and only the fifth Husker player in a century to accomplish the feat.

The USBWA divides the country into nine districts, and District VI consists of Nebraska, Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, North Dakota and South Dakota. The complete District VI team is listed below.

The Huskers will take on either Purdue or Ohio State in the Big Ten quarterfinals Friday at 1:30 p.m.



Doug McDermott, Creighton


Gregg Marshall, Wichita State


Terran Petteway, Nebraska
Cleanthony Early, Wichita State

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State
Joel Embiid, Kansas
DeAndre Kane, Iowa State
Roy Devyn Marble, Iowa
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Fred VanVleet, Wichita State
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub