Volleyball Field Set for Collegiate Nationals

By NU Athletic Communications
Jordan Larson helped NU win the 2007 Collegiate Beach National title.
Jordan Larson helped NU win the 2007 Collegiate Beach National title.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Lincoln The University of Nebraska volleyball team is one of six schools chosen to participate in the 2008 Collegiate National in San Diego, Calif.

The event, sponsored by the CBS College Sports Network, American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) and the AVP, is a showcase for some of the country’s top amateur players to display their beach volleyball skills. The one-day competition will take place on Sunday, April 20 at Mariners Point in San Diego.

Teams from Nebraska, Clemson, San Diego, USC, Texas and Wisconsin will compete for the 2008 Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship, one of the events in the third-annual collegiate nationals.

The Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship features a team-style format with each school fielding four teams of two players.  Following the conclusion of the event, one school will be awarded the overall championship.  All six teams in this year’s competition were ranked in the 2007 CBS College Sports Network/AVCA Coaches Top 25 Final Poll, including third-ranked USC, fifth-ranked Nebraska and sixth-ranked Texas.

In addition, 2007 All-Americans Jordan Larson (Nebraska), Taylor Carico (USC) and Brittany Dolgner (Wisconsin) are among the featured players this year. Larson joined former Husker All-American Sarah Pavan in winning the 2007 event, as last year’s competition featured only two players per team, as opposed to entire teams this spring.

Extensive television coverage of the Collegiate Nationals kicksoff with a special one-hour program airing on CBS Sports on Sunday, May 25 (1 p.m.). The show will launch eight consecutive days of Olympic-style programming on CBS College Sports Network, followed by sport specific shows.  AVP All-Star and Olympic Bronze Medalist Holly McPeak teams with play-by-play announcer Chris McGee to call the volleyball action. 

The Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship will adhere strictly to NCAA guidelines for college volleyball.  For more information, visit www.thecollegiatenationals.com.

Official 2008 Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship Team Rosters
CLEMSON: Jeannette Abbott, Laura Boozer, Didem Ege, Danielle Hepburn, Meghan Hinemeyer, Lisa Jedlicka, Leslie Mansfield, Kelsey Murphy, Cansu Ozdemir, Lia Proctor

NEBRASKA: Kori Cooper, Tara Mueller, Jordan Larson, Lindsey Licht, Rachel Schwartz, Jordan Wilberger, Brooke Delano, Kayla Banwarth, Amanda Gates

SAN DIEGO: Ashton Basch, Andrea Csaszi, Amy DeGroot, Torey Ellick, Kelsi Myers, Jessica Nyrop, Breanne Ogden, Jaimarie Sutherland, Ali Troost, Kayleen Webster

TEXAS: Jennifer Doris, Ashley Engle, Elizabeth Graham, Kiley Hall, Alyson Jennings, Heather Kisner, Chelsey Klein, Alex Lewis, Michelle Moriarty

USC: Taylor Carico, Zoe Garrett, Jessica Gysin, Alli Hillgren, Mychaela Miller, Kimmee Roleder, Geena Urango, Lauren Williams

WISCONSIN: Brittney Dolgner, Caity DuPont, Katherine Dykstra, Audra Jeffers, Nikki Klingsporn, Kim Kuzma, Faye McCormack, Morgan Salow, Allison Wack


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub