26 Huskers Honored at HERO Breakfast
Courtesy: NU Athletic Communications
Print RSS
Nebraska soccer player Selenia Iacchelli is congratulated by Athletic Director Tom Osborne for her 2008 HERO Award.
Courtesy: Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Lincoln-Twenty-six Nebraska student-athletes were recognized on Monday morning at the second annual HERO Leadership Recognition Breakfast.


The student-athletes were nominated by members of the Athletic/Academic Staff and coaching staffs, and the student-athletes were recognized for demonstrating outstanding leadership and citizenship.


The student-athletes honored have been the driving force in Nebraska student-athletes impacting more than 100,000 people statewide in the past year through various forms of outreach and service. Honorees have also been instrumental in encouraging and inspiring teammates to further develop leadership qualities and volunteer on and off-campus.


Each of the 26 recipients were presented a plaque by Athletic Director Tom Osborne and Associate Athletic Director for Life Skills Keith Zimmer.


The 26 student-athletes honored on Monday included:

Pierre Allen - Football

Lindsay Baker - Bowling

Chris Balham - Men's Basketball

DJ Belfonte - Baseball

Craig Brester - Wrestling

Dan Christensen - Men's Track and Field

Kim Chrostowski - Rifle

Kori Cooper - Volleyball

Kyle Custer - Men's Cross Country

Eric Daigle - Men's Gymnastics

Erin Davis - Women's Gymnastics

Ashley Finnegan - Women's Tennis

Aaron Gillaspie - Football

Ari Goldstein - Women's Cross Country

Crystal Gonzalez - Softball

Jade Hodson - Women's Track and Field

Selenia Iacchelli - Soccer

Jack Lemke - Men's Track and Field

Leandra McGruder - Women's Track and Field

Renato Melo - Men's Tennis

Danielle Page - Women's Basketball

Megan Place - Women's Golf

Trent Price - Men's Golf

Matt Senske - Football

Jenna Stroud - Swimming and Diving

Jake Wesch - Football

JV Team 300x250

Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad