Courtesy: NU Athletic Communications
Print RSS

Cornhusker legends Johnny Rodgers (1972), Mike Rozier (1983) and Eric Crouch (2001) have won college football's highest award - the Heisman Trophy.

 National Awards

Nebraska is a hotbed for exceptional athletes to earn national honors. In 2001, Nebraska quarterback Eric Crouch became Nebraska's third Heisman Trophy winner, while also taking hom the Davey O'Brien Award and the Walter Camp Player-of-the-Year Award. Husker players have won a nation-leading nine Outland Trophies, five Lombardi Awards and three Heisman Trophies. In 2009, defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh became one of the nation's most decorated defensive players. Suh captured the Outland, Lombardi, Bronko Nagurski and Chuck Bednarik awards, while also being named the Associated Press College Player of the Year. He was also the first defensive lineman to be a finalist for the Heisman in 15 seasons and finished fourth in the voting for the award.

For information on each award Nebraska football players have won, as well as a listing of Husker retired jerseys and football All-Americans, click on the links below.


Zach Wiegert captured the 1994 Outland Trophy as a leader of Nebraska's "Pipeline" offensive line. Wiegert went on to a 12-year career in the NFL after helping the Huskers to the 1994 national championship.

JV Team 300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad