Junior heavyweight Tucker Lane is ranked in the top 10 to begin the 2010-11 season.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Lane Captures Title at Warren Williamson/Daktronics Open

By NU Athletic Communications
Brookings, S.D. - Two members of the Nebraska wrestling team opened the 2010-11 tournament season over the weekend at the Warren Williamson/Daktroics Open in Brookings, S.D. The tournament, which took place Saturday, Nov. 6, featured Nebraska wrestlers Tucker Lane (HWT) and Andy Johnson (197).

Lane, a two-time NCAA qualifier, cruised through his first two matches by collecting pins over DeAnthony Cloyd (Midland) and Zack Wilcox (unattached) to reach the semifinals. The junior then defeated Seth McGregor (Iowa Central JC) in the semifinals by a 4-2 decision to advance to the finals against Matt Meuleners (Northern State). Lane escaped with a 3-2 decision over Meuleners in the finals to capture the heavyweight title.

In the 197-pound weight division, Johnson defeated Logan Johnson (Iowa Central CC) and Scott Schiller (unattached) each by the score of 11-4 in the first two rounds. Johnson's only loss came in the semifinals when he fell by sudden victory to Tyler Copsey (Augustana), 3-2, which moved him to the third place bracket. In the third place bracket, Johnson collected his first fall of the season by defeating Nick Mart (unattached) in 2:15, to set up a rematch with Schiller, who Johnson defeated in the quarterfinals earlier in the day. Johnson was impressive in his match against Schiller, winning by decision, 11-6, to capture third place.

The Huskers will kick off their dual season on Saturday, Nov. 21, at the Buckeye Duals in Columbus, Ohio. Nebraska is set dual both Ohio State and Pittsburgh in double-header action.

Complete Results-Williamson/Daktronics Open

Tucker Lane (NU) by fall over DeAnthony Cloyd (Midland), 1:37
Tucker Lane (NU) by fall over Zack Wilcox (unattached), 3:21
Tucker Lane (NU) by decision over Seth McGregor (Iowa Central CC), 4-2
Tucker Lane (NU) by decision over Matt Meuleners (Northern State), 3-2

Andy Johnson (NU) by decision over Logan Johnson (Iowa Central CC), 11-4
Andy Johnson (NU) by Scott Schiller (unattached), 11-4
Tyler Copsey (Augustana) by decision over Andy Johnson (NU), 3-2-SV2
Andy Johnson (NU) by fall over Nick Mart (unattached), 2:15
Andy Johnson (NU) by decision over Scott Schiller (unattached), 11-6


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub