Tucker Lane will join Jordan Burroughs in the quarterfinals tomorrow at 9:30 a.m.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Session II: Burroughs, Lane Advance to Quarterfinals

By NU Athletic Communications

Philadelphia, Pa.- Senior Jordan Burroughs (165) and junior Tucker Lane (HWT) both advanced to the quarterfinal round of the 2011 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships on Thursday to remain in the hunt for a national title. Burroughs jumped out to a comfortable lead in the second period of his match, before Ethan Headlee (Pitt.) was forced to default the match to Burroughs because of an injury. Lane, a three-time NCAA qualifier, advanced to the quarterfinal round after his victory over Brendan Barlow (Kent St.).

In the team race, the Huskers currently sit in 10th place with 18.5 points. Penn State is leading the tournament with 30.5 ponits, followed by Cornell, Iowa, Oklahoma State and American to round out the top five.

Top-seeded Burroughs advanced to the quarterfinal round for the third time in his career as he continues his quest to become the school's first two-time national champion. The two-time All-American improved his season record to 33-0. Lane will be wrestling in the quarterfinal round for the first time in his career, despite qualifying for the tournament his first two years as a Husker.

In his second round match, Burroughs stormed out of the gate with four takedowns in the first period against Headlee. In the middle of the second period, Headlee appeared to suffer an injury on the edge of the mat after shot attempt from Burroughs. The Sicklerville, N.J. native will face off against No. 8 Scott Winston (Rutgers), who defeated Justin Kerber (Cornell) in the second round.

Lane was able to escape with a victory in the second round by earning a takedown with: 50 remaining in the match to extend his lead to 3-1 over Barlow. After an escape point from Barlow to pull within one point, Lane was able to hold off his opponent for the last :20 and used the riding time advantage to take the match by a 4-2 final score. Lane will match up with third-seeded Kevin Flores (American) in the quarterfinals. Flores advanced with a major decision victory over Kevin Lester (Columbia).

Also wrestling in the championship second round was NU's Josh Ihnen (184) and Andy Johnson (197). No. 10 Ihnen fell victim to No. 7 Chris Perry (OSU) for the third time this season, by decision 5-2, while Johnson was defeated by No. 1 Cam Simaz (Cornell), 8-4. Both Ihnen and Johnson will drop to the Wrestleback brackets at their respective weights and continue action tomorrow morning.

After dropping his first round match to No. 4 Tyler Graff (Wisconsin), the Huskers' Ridge Kiley (133) was able to extend his tournament life in the consolation round on Thursday night by defeating Justin Paulsen (Stanford), 4-0. The victory marked his first career NCAA win and was also his second victory over Paulsen this season after defeating him at the Lone Star duals on Jan. 15.

David Klingsheim (125) and Mike Koehnelin (141) both saw their season's come to an end on Thursday after dropping their first round consolation matches. Klingsheim, the 2011 Big 12 Champion at 125 pounds, couldn't get past Manuel Ramirez (UNCG), falling by major decision, 19-7. Koehnlein ended his Husker career with a 12-1 major decision loss to Vicente Varela (Hofstra) at 141 pounds.

Quarterfinal matches and second and third round consolation matches will begin at 9:30 a.m. on Friday. Session III matches will be aired on ESPNU, along with ESPN3.com. To follow live stats of the NCAA tournament, visit http://www.nwcaonline.com/nwcaonline/CompetitionResultNCAA.aspx.

NCAA Championships
March 17, 2011
Philadelphia, Pa., Wells Fargo Center
First Session Attendance: 17,289
Second Session Attendance: 17,289

Official Results
Quarterfinal Matches
165- No. 1 Jordan Burroughs (NU) vs. No. 8 Scott Winston (Rutgers)
HWT- No. 11 Tucker Lane (NU) vs. No. 3 Kevin Flores (American)

Consolation Second Round Matches
133- Ridge Kiley (NU) vs. Flint Ray (Utah Valley)
184- No. 10 Josh Ihnen (NU) vs. Erich Schmidke (Oklahoma)
197- Andy Johnson (NU) vs. Peter Capone (Ohio State)

Second Round Matches

165- No. 1 Jordan Burroughs (NU) wins by injury def.over Justin Lister (Binghamton)
184- No. 7 Chris Perry (Oklahoma State) wins by decision over No. 10 Josh Ihnen (NU), 5-2
197- No. 1 Cam Simaz (Cornell) wins by decision over Andy Johnson (NU), 8-4
HWT- No. 11 Tucker Lane (NU) wins by decision over Brendan Barlow (Kent St.), 4-2

Consolation First Round

125- Manuel Ramirez (UNCG) wins by major dec. over David Klingsheim (NU), 19-7
133- Ridge Kiley (NU) wins by dec. over Justin Paulsen (Stanford), 4-0
141- Vicente Varela (Hofstra) wins by major dec. over Mike Koehnlein (NU), 12-1

First round

125- Sean Boyle (Michigan) wins by decision over David Klingsheim (NU), 8-1
133-Tyler Graff (Wisconsin) wins by major decision over Ridge Kiley (NU), 16-9
141- No. 1 Kellen Russell (Michigan) wins by decision over Mike Koehnlein (NU), 5-3
165- No. 1 Jordan Burroughs (NU) wins by technical fall over Ethan Headlee (Pitt.), 23-7 (5:16)
184- No. 10 Josh Ihnen (NU) wins by major decision over Matt Ryan (West Virginia), 10-0
197- Andy Johnson (NU) wins by major decision over Zachary Bennett (UNC), 15-3
HWT- No. 11 Tucker Lane (NU) wins by default over Brett Cornell (Buffalo)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub