Jordan Burroughs will wrestle in the semifinals of the NCAA Championships Friday night.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Burroughs Earns Third All-American Honor, Moves to Semifinals

By NU Athletic Communications
Philadelphia, Pa. - Nebraska senior Jordan Burroughs (165) earned All-American honors and advanced to the semifinals of the 2011 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships on Friday at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, Pa. Burroughs used an array of takedowns to defeat No. 8 Scott Winston (Rutgers) by technical fall, 23-8. Tucker Lane (HWT) wasn't able to advance in his quarterfinal match, going down to No. 3 Ryan Flores (American), 5-2, dropping him to the consolation bracket with fellow Husker Josh Ihnen (184).

With the victory, Burroughs becomes Nebraska's 13th three-time All-American in school history and improves his season record to 34-0. As a sophomore, Burroughs finished in third place at 149, before winning the national title as a junior at 157 pounds.

No. 1 Burroughs was on the attack from the start against Winston, nabbing five takedowns in the first period to extend his lead to 10-4 heading into the second. Burroughs almost matched that number in the second period with four takedowns to put the match out of reach, and sealed the deal in the final period with a reversal and another takedown. The technical fall was his second of the tournament after defeating Eathan Headlee (Pitt.) by technical fall his first round match.

In the semifinals, Burroughs will take on No. 5 Colt Sponseller (Ohio St.), who upset No. 4 Josh Asper (Maryland) in his quarterfinals match, 3-1.

At the heavyweight bracket, Lane was unable to climb out of an early 2-0 hole against the tournament's No. 3 seed. Lane will be dropped to the Wrestleback bracket, where he will take on Spencer Myers (Maryland) in the fourth round.

NU will send one other wrestler to the mat on Friday night in sophomore Josh Ihnen (184), who won two matches in convincing fashion to keep his All-American hopes alive. Ihnen began the day by defeating Erich Schmidke (OU) by major decision, 10-1, before taking down Austin Trotman (App. St.), 8-1. Ihnen will take on the brackets No. 1 seed Christopher Honeycutt (Edinboro), who was upset by No. 9 Quentin Wright (Penn. St.) in the quarterfinals. Both Lane and Ihnen will earn All-American honors with victories during Friday night's session.  

Friday marked the end of the season for Ridge Kiley (133) and Andy Johnson (197), who both fell in their consolation brackets. Kiley wasn't able to overcome Flint Ray (Utah Valley) in the second round of the Wrestlebacks, falling by a 7-0 count. Kiley finished the season with a 22-15 record. Johnson began the day with a major decision victory over Peter Capone (Ohio St.), but fell to Sonny Yohn (Minn.) to end his tournament run. Johnson finished the year with a 28-13 overall record.

In the team race, the Huskers currently sit in 11th place with 30.5 points. Cornell leads the overall team standings with 61 points and is followed by Penn State, Iowa, American and Oklahoma State to round out the top five.

Friday night's session will kick off at 6 p.m. from the Wells Fargo Center with the semifinal and fourth and fifth round consolation matches. You can view the semifinals on ESPNU. For live stats of the tournament, visit

Session IV Schedule (6 p.m.)
Semifinal Matches
165- No. 1 Jordan Burroughs (NU) vs. No. 5 Colt Sponseller (Ohio St.)

Fourth Round Consolation Matches
184- No. 10 Josh Ihnen (NU) vs. No. 1 Christopher Honeycutt (Edinboro)
HWT- No. 11 Tucker Lane (NU) vs. Spencer Myers (Maryland)

Session III Results
Quarterfinal Matches
165- No. 1 Jordan Burroughs (NU) win by tech. fall over No. 8 Scott Winston (Rutgers), 23-8
HWT- No. 3 Kevin Flores (American) wins by decision over No. 11 Tucker Lane (NU), 5-2

Consolation Third Round

184- No. 10 Josh Ihnen (NU) wins by decision over Austin Trotman (App. St.) 8-1
197- Sonny Yohn (Minn.) wins by decision over Andy Johnson (NU), 3-1

Consolation Second Round
133- Flint Ray (Utah Valley) wins by decision over Ridge Kiley (NU), 7-0
184- No. 10 Josh Ihnen (NU) wins by major decision over Erich Schmidke (Oklahoma), 10-1
197- Andy Johnson (NU) wins by major decision over Peter Capone (Ohio State), 12-2

Session II Results
Second Round Matches

165- No. 1 Jordan Burroughs (NU) wins by injury def.over Justin Lister (Binghamton)
184- No. 7 Chris Perry (Oklahoma State) wins by decision over No. 10 Josh Ihnen (NU), 5-2
197- No. 1 Cam Simaz (Cornell) wins by decision over Andy Johnson (NU), 8-4
HWT- No. 11 Tucker Lane (NU) wins by decision over Brendan Barlow (Kent St.), 4-2

Consolation First Round

125- Manuel Ramirez (UNCG) wins by major dec. over David Klingsheim (NU), 19-7
133- Ridge Kiley (NU) wins by dec. over Justin Paulsen (Stanford), 4-0
141- Vicente Varela (Hofstra) wins by major dec. over Mike Koehnlein (NU), 12-1

Session I Results
First round

125- Sean Boyle (Michigan) wins by decision over David Klingsheim (NU), 8-1
133-Tyler Graff (Wisconsin) wins by major decision over Ridge Kiley (NU), 16-9
141- No. 1 Kellen Russell (Michigan) wins by decision over Mike Koehnlein (NU), 5-3
165- No. 1 Jordan Burroughs (NU) wins by technical fall over Ethan Headlee (Pitt.), 23-7 (5:16)
184- No. 10 Josh Ihnen (NU) wins by major decision over Matt Ryan (West Virginia), 10-0
197- Andy Johnson (NU) wins by major decision over Zachary Bennett (UNC), 15-3
HWT- No. 11 Tucker Lane (NU) wins by default over Brett Cornell (Buffalo)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub