Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Burkhead Named to Big Ten Preseason List

By NU Athletic Communications
Nebraska I-back Rex Burkhead was one of 10 players selected to the Big Ten's Players to Watch List on Thursday. The list is chosen by a media panel and features five players from the Legends Division and five players from the Leaders Division.

Burkhead is coming off a 2011 season in which he ran for 1,357 yards, the seventh-highest total in school history and the most yards by a Husker I-back since Ahman Green in 1997. Burkhead, who was also named to the preseason watch list for the Walter Camp, Maxwell and Doak Walker Awards earlier this summer, scored 17 total touchdowns last season, tying a Nebraska record by scoring a touchdown in each of the season's first 10 games. Burkhead's 104.4 rushing yards per game ranked 19th nationally, and he served as a workhorse, carrying the ball 284 times, the second-highest total in school history. Burkhead posted a school-record 38 carries against Iowa last season.

Burkhead was also a first-team CoSIDA Academic All-American last fall and an honorable-mention All-American according to Sports Illustrated. Burkhead was also honored with a Nebraska Student-Athlete HERO Leadership Award this spring, along with a third straight appointment to the Brook Berringer Citizenship team. He also earned national recognition as an Uplifting Athletes Rare Disease Champion.

Burkhead, linebacker Will Compton and tight end Kyler Reed are in Chicago today and tomorrow as part of Big Ten Media Days. Nebraska Coach Bo Pelini speaks to the media at 1 p.m. and his remarks will be carried live on BTN and In addition, follow @Huskers on twitter for updates from the next two days in Chicago.

Big Ten Preseason Players to Watch

LEGENDS DIVISION                                                                

Rex Burkhead, RB, Nebraska

Taylor Lewan, OT, Michigan                                                      

Denard Robinson, QB, Michigan                                               

Johnny Adams, CB, Michigan State                                          

William Gholston, DE, Michigan State                           


John Simon, DL, Ohio State

Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State

Kawann Short, DT, Purdue

Montee Ball, RB, Wisconsin

Chris Borland, LB, Wisconsin                                                            


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub