The Huskers host the intersquad event on Friday night at the Devaney Center.
Photo by BreAnna Haessler/NU Media Relations

Huskers Set for Wrestle-Offs on Friday

By NU Athletic Communications

Match Day: Wrestle-Offs
Date: Friday, Nov. 2
Time: 7 p.m.
Location: Devaney Center; Lincoln, Neb.

Lincoln, Neb. - The Nebraska wrestling team kicks off its 2012-13 season on Friday, Nov. 2 as the Huskers host the annual wrestle-offs at 7 p.m., at the Devaney Center. The free event is held in conjunction with Nebraska's Fall Coaches Clinic and will assist the Husker coaching staff in determining NU's starting lineup for the 2012-13 season.

The Huskers finished 2011-12 with a 15-4 record and a tie-for-21st-place finish at the NCAA Championships. Nebraska returns six wrestlers who qualified for the NCAA Championships last season, including All Americans Josh Ihnen (184) and James Green (157). Seniors Ridge Kiley and Tyler Koehn as well as sophomores Jake Sueflohn and Robert Kokesh also return as NCAA qualifiers for the Huskers. Fans will also get their first glimpse at some of the Husker newcomers on this year's squad.

Nebraska will face a challenging schedule in 2012-13, which includes a trip to Madison Square Garden as well as matches against the top three NCAA finishers from 2012. The Huskers will host seven duals, including a match against NWCA/USA Today preseason No. 1 Minnesota on Friday, Nov. 16 at 7 p.m.

Nebraska's first competition is the Warren Williamson/Daktronics Open on Sunday, Nov. 4 in Brookings, S.D. The Huskers' first regular season dual is on Saturday, Nov. 10 against Northern Colorado in Greeley, Colo.

Nebraska Wrestle-Offs Schedule

Mat 1
1. (125) Shawn Nagel vs. Timmy Lambert
2. (141) Ridge Kiley vs. Drew Etherton
3. (165) Michael Klinginsmith vs. Cody Compton
4. (174) Micah Barnes vs. Aaron Studebaker
5. (184) Joe Zimmer vs. TJ Dudley
6. (HWT) Donny Longendyke vs. Collin Jensen
7. (133) Timmy Lambert vs. Skylar Wood
8. (141) Winner of Kiley/Etherton vs. Winner of Galloway/DeAnda
9. (157) Ian Ousley vs. Zeke Nistrian
10. (157) James Green vs. John Svoboda
11. (165) Brandon Wilbourn vs. Winner of Klinginsmith/Compton
12. (165) Loser of Klinginsmith/Compton vs. Loser of Grande/McMurtry
13. (149) Jake Sueflohn vs. Winner of Fenske/Babcock
14. (165) Winner of Wilbourn/(Klinginsmith/Compton) vs. Winner of Wilson/(Grande/McMurtry)
15. (157) Loser of Green/Svoboda vs. Winner of Ousley/Nistrian

Mat 2
1. (133) Skylar Wood vs. Adam Joseph
2. (141) Skylar Galloway vs. Luis DeAnda
3. (165) Ross Grande vs. Shaun'qae McMurtry
4. (174) Robert Kokesh vs. McCoy Newberg
5. (149) Nick Babcock vs. Jed Fenske
6. (125) Eric Coufal vs. Shawn Nagel
7. (141) Loser of Kiley/Etherton vs. Loser of Galloway/DeAnda  
8. (197) Caleb Kolb vs. Nyle Bartling
9. (165) Austin Wilson vs. Winner of Grande/McMurtry
10. (174) Winner of Barnes/Studebaker vs. Tyler Koehn
11. (174) Loser of Kokesh/Newberg vs. Loser of Barnes/Studebaker
12. (184) Josh Ihnen vs. Winner of Zimmer/Dudley
13. (149) Loser of Babcock/Fenske vs. Gage Anderson
14. (133) Eric Coufal vs. Skylar Wood
15. (174) Winner of Kokesh/Newberg vs. Winner of Koehn/(Barnes/Studebaker) 


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub