Nebraska celebrated the close of an NCAA Sweet 16 season.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Celebrate at Banquet

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln - A crowd of more than 300 gathered at the Lincoln Station on Thursday night to celebrate Nebraska's successful 2012-13 women's basketball season at the program's year-end banquet.

Fun-filled addresses from Nebraska Coach Connie Yori and radio play-by-play announcer Matt Coatney highlighted the evening's festivities, along with a pair of heartfelt and meaningful farewell speeches from seniors Lindsey Moore and Meghin Williams.

The Huskers joined with hundreds of Fastbreaker Booster Club members, family, friends and athletic staff members in celebrating Nebraska's 2013 NCAA Sweet 16 season. NU finished 25-9 overall, including 12-4 in the Big Ten. The Huskers finished No. 16 in the final NCAA RPI, No. 16 in the final national attendance rankings and No. 18 in the final USA Today/Coaches Top 25.

A season highlight video produced by HuskerVision's Amanda Holzwarth showcased Nebraska's journey through the 2012-13 campaign, while a special Senior Video honored the contributions of Moore and Williams throughout their Husker careers. A light-hearted blooper video also showed fans a behind-the-scenes look into the personalities of the players on one of the most successful women's basketball teams in school history.

The two-hour banquet included the presentation of Nebraska's team awards. Moore earned NU's Offensive MVP Award, after having a hand in 44 percent of the Huskers' made field goals in 2012-13. Sophomore Emily Cady claimed the team's Defensive MVP Award after leading the team in blocked shots and ranking among the top Huskers in both steals and defensive rebounds.

Williams and sophomore Katie Simon shared NU's Teammate Award, while junior forward Jordan Hooper captured the Husker Award.

The team also presented a pair of first-time awards in 2012-13. Cady and fellow sophomore Hailie Sample shared the Kathy Branchaud Most Improved Rebounder Award, while Nate Schlautman was named Nebraska's Most Dedicated Practice Player.

2012-13 Nebraska Women's Basketball Awards
Offensive MVP: Lindsey Moore, Sr., PG
Defensive MVP: Emily Cady, So., F
Teammate Award: Meghin Williams, Sr., F/Katie Simon, So., F
Husker Award: Jordan Hooper, Jr., F
Kathy Branchaud Most Improved Rebounder: Emily Cady, So., F/Hailie Sample, So., F
Most Dedicated Practice Player: Nate Schlautman


More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Women's Basketball Jun. 25
Women's Basketball Jun. 18
Women's Basketball Jun. 6
Women's Basketball May. 24
Women's Basketball May. 3
Women's Basketball Apr. 17


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub