Robert Kokesh was named Most Outstanding Wrestler of the Year.
Photo by Keith Southworth

Huskers Honored at Wrestling Banquet

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln, Neb. – The Nebraska wrestling team held its annual postseason banquet on Saturday night at Memorial Stadium to reflect on the 2012-13 season.

Seniors Ross Grande, Josh Ihnen, Ridge Kiley, Michael Klinginsmith and Tyler Koehn were honored for their Husker careers. Each of them spoke, looking back at their experiences with the Nebraska wrestling program.

Sophomore Robert Kokesh (174) earned Most Outstanding Wrestler of the Year following a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships last month. Kokesh led the team with 38 wins and earned three tournament titles, including the Midlands Invitational in December.

The Most Improved Award went to Austin Wilson (165). The redshirt freshman compiled a 27-14 record, which included three wins at the NCAA Championships. The Most Dedicated Wrestler was awarded to sophomore Jake Sueflohn (149). Sueflohn fell one match short of All-America honors but finished second at the Big Ten Championships and went 24-7.

Seniors Kiley (141) and Grande (157) each earned awards on Saturday night. Kiley was named Lifter of the Year and Grande earned the Spirit of Excellence. The Granite Award went to Spencer Johnson, who moved up to heavyweight from 197 pounds and appeared in eight duals. The Redshirt of the Year was Tim Lambert (125), who won four tournament titles en route to a 19-3 record.

The Huskers finished 13th at the 2013 NCAA Championships with 38 points. In dual competition, Nebraska compiled an 11-6 record.

2012-13 Nebraska Wrestling Awards
Most Outstanding Wrestler: Robert Kokesh (174)
Redshirt of the Year: Tim Lambert (125)
Most Dedicated: Jake Sueflohn (149)
Granite Award: Spencer Johnson (HWT)
Most Improved: Austin Wilson (165)
Spirit of Excellence: Ross Grande (157)
Lifter of the Year: Ridge Kiley (141)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub