All-Big Ten I-back Ameer Abdullah was named team MVP on Sunday.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Honored at Annual Football Banquet

By NU Athletic Communications

Junior I-back Ameer Abdullah led the list of honorees, as the Nebraska football team gathered for its 2013 banquet on Sunday afternoon at the Cornhusker Hotel in Lincoln.

Abdullah was named the overall Team Most Valuable Player and earned the prestigious Lifter of the Year Award for the second straight year. The 5-9, 190-pound Abdullah is the second player in the past three years to win the Lifter of the Year Award in back-to-back seasons, after Rex Burkhead won the award in 2010 and 2011.

Abdullah was also named a 2013 team captain. The Huskers elected four captains before the start of the season, and Abdullah and senior defensive end Jason Ankrah were announced as additional captains on Sunday. Abdullah and Ankrah joined season-long captains Quincy Enunwa, Spencer Long, Taylor Martinez and Ciante Evans.

In addition to his role as captain, Enunwa was also named the team’s Offensive MVP, after catching 10 touchdown passes and moving into the top 10 on Nebraska’s career receiving charts. Sophomore defensive end Randy Gregory was voted as the Defensive MVP. The first-year Husker leads the Big Ten with 9.5 sacks, with nine of his sacks in conference play. Senior place-kicker Pat Smith was awarded the Special Teams MVP Award. Smith connected on 11-of-12 field goals in his lone season in Lincoln.

Senior offensive tackle Jeremiah Sirles was announced as the winner of the Chamberlin Trophy. The award dates back to 1967 and is voted on by members of the media, and honors a senior player who has the qualities and dedication of the great Cornhusker tradition.

Senior center Cole Pensick, a Lincoln native and second-generation Husker, was presented the Cletus Fischer Native Son Award, given annually to a senior who is a Nebraska native. The award is named in honor of long-time Nebraska offensive line coach Cletus Fischer.

Senior quarterback Ron Kellogg III was presented the Tom Novak Trophy. The oldest of Nebraska's senior awards, the Novak Trophy dates back to 1950. The Chamberlin, Native Son and Novak awards will also be honored at the Outland Trophy Award ceremony in Omaha on Jan. 9.

Sophomore receiver Sam Burtch was awarded the Huskers’ 2013 Walk-on MVP Award, while linebacker Courtney Love was named the Scout Team Defensive MVP and I-back Adam Taylor was the Scout Team Offensive MVP.

Award Winners
Team MVP
– IB Ameer Abdullah

Offensive MVP – WR Quincy Enunwa

Defensive MVP-DE Randy Gregory

Special Teams MVP-PK Pat Smith

Captains - Offense: WR Quincy Enunwa, OL Spencer Long, QB Taylor Martinez, IB Ameer Abdullah
Defense: DE Jason Anrkah, DB Ciante Evans

Chamberlin Trophy-OT Jeremiah Sirles

Novak Trophy-QB Ron Kellogg III

Fischer Native Son Award –C Cole Pensick

Bobby Reynolds Award-TE Jake Long

Lifter of the Year Award-IB Ameer Abdullah

Walk-on of the Year-WR Sam Burtch

Offensive Scout Team MVP-IB Adam Taylor

Defensive Scout Team MVP-LB Courtney Love

Character Award-WR Taariq Allen, OG Mike Moudy, OL Scott Criss

Pat Clare Award-WR Taariq Allen

Husker Heart Award-OT Brandon Chapek

Burnell Student Manager Scholarship-Kara Leachman


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub