Angela Mercurio was named to the Academic All-Big Ten team on Wednesday.
Photo by Stephanie Carpenter/Nebraska Communications

Track & Field Posts 37 Academic-All-Big Ten Awards

By NU Athletic Communications

LINCOLN, Neb. – The Big Ten Conference announced its spring Academic-All Big Ten teams on Wednesday. A total of 37 members of the Nebraska track and field team were honored.

Junior Angela Mercurio received special recognition with a perfect 4.0 grade-point average. Mercurio, a triple jumper from Kitchener, Ontario, is majoring in biochemistry. She secured her first bid to the NCAA Outdoor Championships last weekend with a personal best in the triple jump at the NCAA West Preliminary Round. Nebraska senior hurdler Drew Wiseman led the Husker men on the list with his third career selection. Wiseman, a Bismarck, North Dakota native, was named a CoSIDA Academic All-District team member for the second time last week for his efforts in the classroom and on the track. Wiseman will compete at the NCAA Championships in the 400-meter hurdles and 4x400-meter relay next week.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

The conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award in July. Students eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying students must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference's Academic All-Big Ten program.

Husker Men Academic All-Big Ten
Grant Anderson, Management/Marketing
Landon Bartel, Classics & Religious Studies
Jacob Bender, Business Analytics
Brandon Benson, Agribusiness
Sam Bransby, Elementary Education
Kevin Cahoy, Biological Sciences
Nick Coghill, Criminology & Criminal Justice
Kaiwan Culmer, Construction Management
Jed Fenske, Nutrition, Exercise & Health Science
Matt Gilbert, Accounting/Actuarial Science/Finance
Patrick Letz, Civil Engineering
Tyler Loontjer, Management
Wyatt McGuire, Elementary Education
Moujtaba Mohammed, Civil Engineering
Andy Neal, Mechanical Engineering
Jacob Olson, Chemical Engineering
Nick Percy, Nutrition, Exercise & Health Science
Austin Post, Biological Sciences
Spencer Powell, Nutrition, Exercise & Health Science
Luke Siedhoff, Biological Sciences
Drew Wiseman, Electrical Engineering

Husker Women Academic All-Big Ten
Jasmine Barge,Criminology & Criminal Justice
Kate Birchmier, Biological Sciences
Shelby Brown, Elementary Education
Ashleigh Carr, Family & Consumer Science Education
Reka Czuth, Marketing
Kristen Dowell, Hospitality, Restaurant & Tourism Management
Morgan Dworak, Advertising & Public Relations
Haley Harsin, Biological Sciences
Kristina Insingo, Art
Angela Mercurio, Biochemistry
Alex Meyer, Social Science Education
Bonnie Smith, Elementary Education
Toni Tupper, Child, Youth & Family Studies
Tierra Williams, Child, Youth & Family Studies
Brittni Wolczyk, Psychology
Chase Wolinski, Ethnic Studies/Sociology


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub