Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Eleven Huskers Earn NFCA Scholar-Athlete Honors

By NU Athletic Communications

The National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) announced the 2016-17 NFCA All-America Scholar-Athletes on Tuesday and 11 current and former Huskers were honored for their achievements in the classroom.

Caitlin Bartsch, Bree Boruff, Haley Donaldson, Tristen Edwards, Taylor Kadavy, Lexey Kneib, Cassie McClure, Gina Metzler, Lotte Sjulin, Madi Unzicker and Austen Urness were all recognized for their efforts.

Nebraska, along with Minnesota, had the most honorees among all Big Ten schools on the list, including Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Purdue, Rutgers and Wisconsin.

This continues Nebraska’s off-field success, as the Huskers lead all softball programs nationally with 30 CoSIDA Academic All-America awards.

NCAA Division I led the way with 1,843 student-athletes earning a 3.5 grade-point average or higher, while 1,825 in Division III garnered recognition followed by 1,268 Division II student-athletes. NAIA amassed 559 recipients and Junior College totaled 496.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub