Photo by None

Gordon Captures Fifth Gold Glove

By NU Athletic Communications

Former Husker Alex Gordon (Kansas City Royals) took home his fifth MLB Gold Glove, when the 2017 winners for both leagues were announced on Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Gordon's five Gold Gloves were the most among all American League winners in 2017, and tied for the most among all 2017 MLB Gold Glove winners with Nolan Arenado (Colorado Rockies) and Jason Heyward (Chicago Cubs). Gordon, who made 135 starts in left field, four starts in center field and one start in right field in 2017, also won Gold Gloves in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Gordon is a three-time MLB All-Star (2013, 2014 and 2015) and 2015 World Series champion with the Royals. Gordon, who lettered for the Huskers from 2003 to 2005, was a two-time first-team All-American (2004, 2005) and 2005 recipient of the Golden Spikes Award, Brooks Wallace Award, ABCA Player of the Year and Dick Howser Award. The 2005 Nebraska team set a school record with 57 wins and advanced to the College World Series.

The Gold Gloves were decided by Major League managers and coaches, who voted only within their league and were unable to vote for players on their own teams. They accounted for 75 percent of the selection process, while the sabermetrics community accounted for the other 25 percent.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub