Photo by Allyssa Hynes/Nebraska Communications

Miramontez Called Up for U.S. U-20 Training Camp

By NU Athletic Communications

Nebraska’s Sinclaire Miramontez is one of 26 players selected for the U.S. Under-20 Women’s National Team Training Camp, which runs Nov. 16-23 in Sunrise, Fla.

Miramontez, a Lenexa, Kan., native, collected first-team All-Big Ten recognition in 2017 after starting all 19 games and playing nearly every second for the Huskers during the season. Miramontez played a pivotal role on Nebraska's defense, which produced eight shutouts, while never allowing more than two goals by an opponent.

Miramontez, who is one of eight defenders on the roster, scored one goal and tallied one assist in 2017. During her first year at Nebraska in 2016, she was a Big Ten All-Freshman selection after starting all 22 games and helped the Huskers qualify for the NCAA Tournament.

The training camp will be the first of three events for the U-20 Women’s National Team this fall and winter before the 2018 CONCACAF Women’s U-20 Championship is contested in Trinidad and Tobago from Jan. 18-28. That tournament will send three teams to the 2018 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in France.

Earlier this year, Miramontez was called up for the U.S. U-19 Training Camp from March 25 to April 1 in Sunrise, Fla.

U.S. U-20 Women’s National Team Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (5): Jaelyn Cunningham (Illinois; Reynoldsburg, Ohio), Claudia Dickey (Charlotte Soccer Academy; Charlotte, NC), Shelby Hogan (Providence; Franklin, Mass.), Amanda McGlynn (Virginia Tech; Jacksonville, Fla.), Madison Newsom (UC Irvine; Elk Grove, Calif.)             

DEFENDERS (8): Nicole Albrecht (Minnesota; Cedarburg, Wisc.), Claire Constant (McLean SC; Alexandria, Va.), Chardonnay Curran (Oregon; Ewa Beach, Hawaii), Sydney Dawson (Internationals SC; Akron, Ohio), Naomi Girma (California Thorns FC; San Jose, Calif.), Sinclaire Miramontez (Nebraska; Lenexa, Kan.), Olivia Petit (Saint Louis; Akron, Ohio), Isabel Rodriguez (Ohio State; Canton, Mich.)                                      

MIDFIELDERS (6): Samantha Coffey (Boston College; Sleepy Hollow, NY), Luca Deza (California; Belmont, Calif.), Kristina Fisher (Miami; Jupiter, Fla.), Jaelin Howell (Real Colorado; Windsor, Colo.), Brianna Pinto (NTH Tophat; Durham, NC), Natalie Winters (Iowa; Plymoth, Mich.)                           

FORWARDS (7): Jordan Brewster (Internationals SC; Canton, Mich.), Alexandria Griffin (Texas Tech; Southlake, Texas), Jordan Harr (Texas Tech; Sachse, Texas), Abigail Kim (California; Vashon, Wash.), Sophia Smith (Real Colorado; Windsor, Colo.), Kylie Sprecher (Marquette; Menomonee Falls, Wisc.), Courtney Strode (Växjö DFF/SWE; San Diego, Calif.)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub